Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If a Dread has lost it's main armament, e.g. Assault Cannon + CCW does it still fight with its profile attacks (2) or is it considered a wreck?

If it does/doesn't can anyone tell me where it says it in print/online

cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
143 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
that's what I thought. It does say that in the rule book - well sort of as it's not exactly clear IMO :roll:

cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
You do, in fact, lose an attack for having suffered a weapon destroyed result. As it's been said, it's no longer got a dreadnought close combat weapon, so it hits at its base profile strength (6).
fair enough but it just seems a bit daft that a vet sgt has two attacks before weapons are considered, wheras an ancient all powerful dread has only one
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
On the other hand, the ancient all powerful dread, though it contains the body of a veteran warrior, is basically:
a) dead;
b) locked in a big iron cupboard.

Which might interfere with his ability to hit things or just generally slow him up a bit.

:cyclops:
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Well, the ancient and powerful dread does have a base 2 attacks with only one CCW, just like the vet. And if you give him a second CCW arm (furioso) he gets a bonus. Just like the vet with his BP and CCW

But having an *arm blown off* is a little different than being disarmed. Sure, a vet without CCWs still gets two swings, but that's because he has two *arms*

If you give a dread a missile launcher he still gets two attacks (though only S6 and doesn't ignore saves). But if you blow his arm *off* he's only got one.

I'm sure if you took a chainsaw and cut off the veteran sergeant's right arm he;d probably only muster half as many swings too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
Well, the ancient and powerful dread does have a base 2 attacks with only one CCW, just like the vet. And if you give him a second CCW arm (furioso) he gets a bonus. Just like the vet with his BP and CCW

But having an *arm blown off* is a little different than being disarmed. Sure, a vet without CCWs still gets two swings, but that's because he has two *arms*

If you give a dread a missile launcher he still gets two attacks (though only S6 and doesn't ignore saves). But if you blow his arm *off* he's only got one.

I'm sure if you took a chainsaw and cut off the veteran sergeant's right arm he;d probably only muster half as many swings too.


touche
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
dreadnought who loses ccw arm loses 1 attak. also a dread who is immobilized also loses 1 attk.
dread always gets 1 attk min.
fyi: need 6 to hit dread in cc with grenades. always strike front armor in cc.
must destroy dread in cc in order to get out of cc with it (unless necrons then can teleport out). ea. glance/pen hit in cc counts as dread taking a wound for assault results. if dread loses cc and fails ldrshp then suffers add glance hits (armor saves) per no retreat rule. counts as 10 models in cc.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Tight summary, though it's worth noting that dreads never take leadership tests and are, essentially, fearless. They suffer one glance if outnumbered two to one or more, but never more than that
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
57 Posts
dreadnought who loses ccw arm loses 1 attak. also a dread who is immobilized also loses 1 attk.
dread always gets 1 attk min.
fyi: need 6 to hit dread in cc with grenades. always strike front armor in cc.
must destroy dread in cc in order to get out of cc with it (unless necrons then can teleport out). ea. glance/pen hit in cc counts as dread taking a wound for assault results. if dread loses cc and fails ldrshp then suffers add glance hits (armor saves) per no retreat rule. counts as 10 models in cc.
As previously stated dreads are fearless (big stompy robot - go figure) Also once the dread is immobilized it is hit with a grenade attack no longer on sixes but on regular weapon skill roll (ie weapon skill 4 will hit regular dread on 4 with krak grenade after immobilization)
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Removing the CCW DOESNOT lower the attack profile by 1 unless the Dread had 2 CCW to begin with. Now any immobilised, stunned, or shaken effects do give a -1 to attack and do stack untill the dread is at 1 attack but the dread can never be reduced below 1 attack. All penetrating hits now count as crew stunned in addition to what they used to count as so this is why MOST of the time when a dread looses its CCW it fights with 1 attack less for at least 1 round. A dread which has lost both of its weapons but is still mobile would fight with its base attack characteristic unless it was stunned or immobilised. Please see page 73 of BGB for the rules on losing its CCW and page 72 for the stunned/shaken/immobilised rule.

Simply...

+1 to Base Attacks for 2 CCW just as if a Sgt had 2 CCWs
-1 for loosing additional CCW just as if a Sgt lost one of his CCWs
-1 for being stunned/shaken/immobilised
Never below 1 attack
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top