Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Different print runs of a Codex.

5517 Views 52 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  don_mondo
Just had a chat with TYRANIDS the Living Metal rule on the Monolith and it seems that we have different things printed in our Codex.
(I now know that his is the newer one.)

Tyranids wrote:

I was looking at the codex when I wrote it "any weapon attacking the Monolith will roll for armour penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what"
My codex does not say this at all!


It is fairly common fo GW to edit a later print run of a Codex without saying they have which can cause some annoying and un-needed auguments and disscusions.

If you have spotted any of these list them here so that we can all save time and much angst.

EDIT Please Do not quote whole passages of your Codex as this is against the old Copyright laws
41 - 53 of 53 Posts
Urm vash, i read it, it only talkes about penetration dice, power fist WOULD still get S8, since the two times strength is not specifically for penetration, its for everything, chain vist however do NOT get the extra D6 against lith, i was however wrong before about the veterain skills, i thought they did apply where as it states they do not in the FAQ
i think the FAQ needs a re-write but i think refering to the doubling scores it means strength aswell as penetration. when you think about it the extra strength helps penetrate it because a weapons with strength lower the 8 when hitting a monlith doesnt do anything. so the strength is in fact part of penetration as weapons below a certain strength cannot penetrate certain armour.

also it says extra armour penetration and doubling scores are much the same thing, i mean the powerfist doubles your strength score doesnt it.
But Strength is used for everything, not just penetration like the examples that were given, its like saying a dread in CC wont get strength 10 attacking a lith witha cread CC weap because its unmodified S is 6, buuuuut the actual weapon your attacking it with is S10, what im saying is the point that was made before, the weapon itself is not a modification! the weapons S for attacking is X, where as X = 2x usersS, so for marine they would be attacking with a S8 weapon
yes but the extra strength helps with penetration and the codex and FAQ clearly state that you cannot use any type of penetration assistance except for the Turbo Penetrator round of the Vindicare Temple Assasin
Yes and so does a dreadnaught CC weap! but as far as i kno that isnt reduced because that IS the actual strength of the weapon, as it is S8 for a space marine power fist!
I have re-posted this because I was Editing it when you two answered



EDIT When I first put this up it was not clear what I was saying, sorry sloppy work. :oops:

When attacking a monolith, extra penetration dice and DOUBLING scores are much the same thing - dont count ANY bonus penetration of ANY sort against a monolith. So no bonuses for multiple Talos attacks, tank hunter, veteran skills, etc.
The ONLY exception is the Vindicare assasin's turbo-penetrator round. as this shell is not bonus penetration as such, it will work. Note that you still roll 2D6 and pick the higher when attacking a monolith with ordnance weapons.
Doubling your strength is NOT a bonus penetration D6 to roll and NOT Doubling your Penetration score from a D6. It is your strength, just your stength and only that and therefore NOT modfied in any way by the Living Metal rule.

Or to put it another way Powerfists give you a strength bonus not a penetration bonus.
Presuming that The Wraithlord still has a toughness (Ain't got that Codex yet.) and not an armour value, you could use this as a rule of thumb 'If it does not help wound a Wraithlord its canceled by the Living Metal rule'.

Now please stop messing with my melon TYRANIDS. :wink:
See less See more
Thanks for clearifying Vash :)
ok fine i agree, just trying to make things difficult as usual lol. and now i cant remeber why im arguing, i mean i do play space marines and i have dreads and power fists!! well im happy, now are we gonna end this argument here and mayb lock this thread so no one can argue anymore ??

and thanks for clarifying Vash :)


Well I will leave it open for now as there is just a small chance it might get back on topic :lol:
(I set the topic up as that argument was derailing another post in the first place. :) )

Dare I ask he says to himself? Any other changes to other Codeces that anyone has noticed?
See less See more
um well i havent read the old one, only the new so i wouldnt know if there were any differences
Viscount Vash said:



Dare I ask he says to himself? Any other changes to other Codeces that anyone has noticed?
Yep, there are two print runs of the IG codex out, and they are not marked (as the various print runs of the Chaos codex are). Only difference I've found in the two IG runs is a statement in the TechPriest section that servitors do not count as wargear.
Remember reading something about this in WD, they now stopped FAQ-ing changing stuff like they did with Terminators getting a 5+ inv save.

They believe that it confuses people that didn't read WD or surfed the internet for updates to the rules.

So now if some things get printed wrong or they need to balance things it would only be done with the release of a new codex or main rulebook.

Don't know how this actually will be used, but FAQs are now only clarifying rules no more rewrites.

But I also know for sure that there are variations between first print run and subsequent of the Chaos codex. Can't say any thing about Necrons.
Lord Alkmie said:
But I also know for sure that there are variations between first print run and subsequent of the Chaos codex. Can't say any thing about Necrons.
Yep, there are actually 4 different print runs of the "current" Chaos codex.
41 - 53 of 53 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top