Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Different print runs of a Codex.

5513 Views 52 Replies 12 Participants Last post by  don_mondo
Just had a chat with TYRANIDS the Living Metal rule on the Monolith and it seems that we have different things printed in our Codex.
(I now know that his is the newer one.)

Tyranids wrote:

I was looking at the codex when I wrote it "any weapon attacking the Monolith will roll for armour penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what"
My codex does not say this at all!

It is fairly common fo GW to edit a later print run of a Codex without saying they have which can cause some annoying and un-needed auguments and disscusions.

If you have spotted any of these list them here so that we can all save time and much angst.

EDIT Please Do not quote whole passages of your Codex as this is against the old Copyright laws
1 - 3 of 53 Posts
How about orks krak stikkbomz (sorry no codex) they use 1d6 x 2 plus strength. That's only one dice but apparently its been covered and don't get the x 2.

i will qoute half the passage i got my codex bout 3 months ago on christams so

"Similiarly, weapons that get aditional Armour Penetration dice (such as chainfists, monsterouscreatures or melta weapons) do not get the xtra dice against the monolith. Ordanence weapons still roll 2d6 Armour Penetration and select the highest score.In practice, any weapon attacking the monlith will roll for Armour Penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single d6 no matter what.

also the powerfists double users strengt is augmented so you would only be using str4 or str 5 powerfists against the model however its users weapon so furious charge and toxin sacs would still be still fine as they add to the models profile unlike the powerfist wich uses double the models strength a.k.a augmented
Even if we could forgive the random use of the word "unaugmented" the rule clearly covers the strength and penetration of the weapon not the bearer. The basic strength of a powerfist carried by a marine for example is 8!
yes however it is users stregth times two wich makes it augmented so that means they would only use the bearers stregth as any other weapon would weapons such as venom cannons would not recive the +2 strength
Just plain wrong (IMO) the WEAPONS BASIC strength is the USERS STRENGTH doubled. For a marine this means the basic strength is 8. This is not augmented in any way. (the user is).
1 - 3 of 53 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.