Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright all I have read the rule entries for reserves, deep strike, teleportation, and such over and over again but I can't make out the particulars of the rules. As it applies to me, I have a command squad, termie assault squad, dreadnought, and a fast attack/jump pack squad I would like the option to deep strike. If I were to do so with all of them in a single game would I need a drop pod for each unit? Are pods optional for deep striking units as just added protection/cover when they land? If anyone can clear this up for me it would be much appreciated.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,512 Posts
the terminators can teleport, no extra cost.

the command squad need one drop pod, the dread another, not sure about the jump pack squad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the info torealis, it's been driving me nuts trying to figure it out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Assault Squads with Jump Packs don't need (nor can they have, with or without JPs) Drop Pods. Termies can have them if desired and it does prevent them from scattering onto enemy units or imapssable terrain.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks don, in regards to that can I attach my teleport homer to my dreadnought? Thereby bypassing the scatter for my termies. So the dread with the homer is dropped, in this case he makes it on the board. So then the termies can teleport to his location without worrying about scattering. Do I have that right?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
sweet thanks for the confirmation vash
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Terminators can deep strike.
Assault terminators can deep strike.
Assault marines (jump packs) can deep strike.
Land speeders can deep strike.

If attached with a drop pod these units can deep strike.

Dreadnaughts
Tactical marines
Scouts
Devastator Marines (not a good idea though)
Command squads
Veteran squads
Terminators (better to just deep strike witout a pod)


Dreadnaughts can't have a teleport homer, veteran sargents can have a teleport homer (the teleport homer must be out at the strat of the turn before your teleporting terminators can use it)

good luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
As said Dread's can't take a teleport homer, so probably the best way to stop the terminators scatering would be to put the command squad in a pod and have one of the characters take the homer. Then the terminators can deep strike onto that. However it's a bit risky relying on this as reserve rolls can mess it up. Could also put a homer on the assault squad's sgt.
Remember that your assault squad can only deep strike in certain missions, not all the time.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thanks a lot for the run down guys. Does the homer have to be held by the sergeant? Or can it just hang out on his base, near his base?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
if said sergeant or commander dies, does the teleport homer remain on the table, and thus the terminators can still lock onto it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
If the sergeant dies the homer is also lost.

the homer can be modeled on the sarge or you can just have it near the squad the sarge is in.
 

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
Joined
·
8,082 Posts
Not sure, I'd put the teleport homer in the Assualt squad as the Command Squad can be geared up to be nasty as in CC where as the Assualt Squad may get into trouble.

Also they can charge forward into the enemy and then call down the Termies to get deep into the battle line instantly rather than having to slug it across the battlefeild.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Thanks for the ideas guys. I actually just got back from my first day playing down at the local shop. In the future I will be doing exactly what you said Jaco. I gave the homer to a squad in my Razorback which was quickly stunned and then swarmed. So it wasnt a complete loss, the termies came in handy holding the center of our line. (it was my friend with his IG army and Me vs the local vet) Given how well my assault sqaud did with the chappy attached to them I picked up another box to fill them out to a full 10x squad. Them+ the homer is going to be much more effective I am hoping.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Everything has been pretty much answered but I do want to point out (again, as someone else did mention it) that the teleport homer must already be on the table before any reserve rolls are attempted for the termies to make use of it. If it and the termies come in on the same turn, it cannot be used.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
quick question about the homer, it can be taken by a sergeant as wargear but does the teleporting squad centre on the sergeant who was carrying it or does he put it down and move on and then squads can teleport onto it in future turns?
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Centered on the model carrying it and the DS'ing unit comes onto the table within 6" of that model.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,374 Posts
yup. my fav tactic is to have the command squad in a transport vehicle, doesnt matter which aslong as it gets them there, drive the command squad up the field, make sure their geared up for CC, drop them off, deploy the beacon, assault the nearest squad. next turn drop in assault termies next to the command squad and you have kick ass CC team right there.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top