Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok I was under the impression that a dedicated transport was just that, a transport dedicated to the unit that was able to select it. for example i take 3 chaos terminators and a dedicated landraider, i thought only those terminators would be able to utitlize that land raider as a transport. However what i am experiencing is people taking those same terminators and the land raider and then putting say Kharn and a squad of berzerkers in that land raider that was supposed to be for the terminators. is this legal or is it just abusing the Heavy support choice limit so they can field 9 obliterators and their Land Radiers?
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
4,491 Posts
You can, but they may NOT start the game inside the Dedicated Vehicle when its deployed.

After the game starts however, they are free to embark inside the vehicle if they wish to.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
526 Posts
Could they not get around that by taking the LR as a heavy support choice instead of a dedicated transport?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
well that settles it far be it from me not to abuse the rules like every one else. 9 obliterators and 3 land raiders for my berzerkers it is mwahahahahaha. dedicated must mean dedicated to smashing in your opponents pie hole. haha.

thanks guys
Sen
 

·
Has Dain Brammage
Joined
·
157 Posts
They could, however as a chaos player the heavy support is usually filled with obliterators and vindicators, with defilers running a distant third, so taking the LR as dedicated is most certainly worth it in this case.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Keep in mind that some older codices still use the old DT rules and may not transport other squads with them. The Inquisition books for example.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Only DH still have the truly dedicated transports, WH was fixed in their FAQ to have battle-taxi dedicated transports.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top