Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One SM Terminator squad may have ONE dedicated transport, does it count as one unit or two. Dedicated transports do not take up any slots and are selected together as one plus any independent character. (pg 67 mini rule book)
Part 2, so if it is one UNIT can a psychic ability target the transport?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
It counts as one Force Organization Slot but two units. Check out the BRB on pg 92 under "Multiple Unit Choices" for more info. :Victory:

Any ability that can affect a vehicle can be targeted at a DT. If you mean whilst the unit is in the transport, then no, unless the aster is also inside. See the BRB FAQ for that one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
The Terminator squad is one unit, the dedicated transport is a seperate unit. A dedicated transport may start the game containing the unit was bought for plus any attached independent characters (up to it's transport capacity), or it may start the game empty.

A transport and it's contents are separate units. The unit inside can only be affected by a psychic power cast from within the vehicle (by an attached Librarian, say). The transport itself would be a seperate target from the transported unit.

Was there a specific question here?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Now the real question

Can The gate of Infinity target the transport also while the Librarian is inside?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
So the Landraider is its own unit, that is what you said and the same thing the codex said as unit type and unit composition. So here is what the power says "Movement phase. The Librarian, and any unit he is with, are
removed from the tabletop and immediately placed back
together anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules. If
the Librarian travels alone, there is no risk, but if he takes a
unit with him, there is a chance something will go wrong. If
the deep strike attempt scatters and a double is rolled, one
member of the unit, chosen by the controlling player, is
claimed by the Warp and removed as a casualty (the
survivors scatter normally)."
So any unit he is with not joined.
I know its cheesey and such but that is how I read it.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Yeah, he's with a squad, not with a vehicle. He's inside a vehicle and is counted as a separate unit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
One SM Terminator squad may have ONE dedicated transport,
Decdicated Transports share the force orginaistion chart with the unit they are assained to but count as a seperate unit while on the field. For example if you have 2 Rhinos with 10 Marines in each then both the Rhinos and the Marines count as troops(total 4 troops).
The ONE landriader pit means that only 1 Assault ermintor unit can tkae one so if you have 2 Assault termintor units only 1 can tkae a landraider. the also applys to normal termintors so in a normal Marine list the max number of Landraiders you cna have is 5(2 will be dedicated transports)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
"but if he takes A unit with him"

also to echo what deathklokk said, he is not with the vehicle he is embarked inside as such you cannot target his unit (which includes himself, as a single unit) AND the transport at the same time as they are seperate units.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Ok so the Librarian can join another unit, how about a Crusader taken as a Heavy choice. It would be its own UNIT and it is a transport too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
388 Posts
So the Landraider is its own unit, that is what you said and the same thing the codex said as unit type and unit composition. So here is what the power says "Movement phase. The Librarian, and any unit he is with, are
removed from the tabletop and immediately placed back
together anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules. If
the Librarian travels alone, there is no risk, but if he takes a
unit with him, there is a chance something will go wrong. If
the deep strike attempt scatters and a double is rolled, one
member of the unit, chosen by the controlling player, is
claimed by the Warp and removed as a casualty (the
survivors scatter normally)."
So any unit he is with not joined.
I know its cheesey and such but that is how I read it.
It sounds like you would get along with my IG roommate way too well.

It also sounds like you would make a lot of people mad and not want to play with you, thus defeating the purpose of collecting the models to play the game.

I know its preachy and such but that is how I read it.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top