Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey gamers,
We need your feedback on three more FAQ first drafts.
Today we have the Deathwatch, the forces of the Genestealer Cults and the mighty Imperial Knights.
Now it's over to you guys. Here’s what you need to do:
– Read through this draft FAQ
– If you think any answers need clarification, post up a comment on the relevant image
– Make sure your question is concisely written, and in plain English
Do the answers all make sense? Are they clear? Do they throw up any more potential issues?
(We’re looking primarily for whether you understand them, rather than if you like the answer.)
You have a week to get your comments in, then we’ll pass them on to the rules guys for the final FAQs.
We’ll be posting more FAQ drafts for feedback over the new few weeks, so if you’re eagerly awaiting the one for your codex, don’t worry, we’re on it.
Finally, we wanted to say thanks again to all of you who sent in our questions, to help make this game well all love even better.
Here’s a link to the original books:
Deathwatch: Overkill
https://www.games-workshop.com/Deathwatch-Overkill-EN…
Codex: Imperial Knights
https://www.games-workshop.com/Codex-Imperial-Knights-ENG…

Q: Can you take invulnerable saves against Graviton weapons as a vehicle (e.g. through an Imperial Knight’s ion shield)?
A: Yes.

Q: Weapons on Walkers are listed as being fixed forward, and the rules for Super-heavy Walkers say that they follow the shooting rules for Walkers. Does this mean that all weapons on an Imperial Knight are limited to the 45° front arc, even including their arms which can physically move much more than 45°, and their carapace weapon which can physically rotate 360°?
A: Treat the Imperial Knight’s arm-mounted ranged weapons as sponson-mounted weapons (see Warhammer 40,000: The Rules) for the purposes of establishing their line of sight. All Imperial Knight carapace weapons have a 360° line of sight.

Q: Is Gerantius still a valid character for Imperial Knights, despite not being added to the codex after the update last year?
A: Yes, the datasheet printed in White Dwarf 24 can still be used to represent Gerantius.

Q: Do you effectively have a second ion shield when you equip an Imperial Knight with Sanctuary?
A: No. Sanctuary replaces the model’s normal ion shield.

Q: What are the armour facing arcs on Imperial Knights?
A: When looking down from above the Knight, draw one imaginary line from the front corner of the left-hand shoulder pauldron to the rear corner of the right-hand shoulder pauldron. Now, draw a second imaginary line from the front corner of the right-hand shoulder pauldron to the rear corner of the left-hand shoulder pauldron. These crossed lines divide the Knight into its front, side and rear armour facings.

Q: How do you determine which side of an Imperial Knight is hit by a Barrage weapon (which are always resolved against a vehicle’s side armour) for the purposes of determining if the Knight gets an ion shield save?
A: Use the direction of the firing model to determine the facing of the attack for the purposes of the Knight’s ion shield, but resolve the attack against its side armour as normal.

Q: How does the Wall of Mirrors special rule of the Tau’s Optimised Stealth Cadre Formation interact with an Imperial Knight’s ion shield?
A: Use the direction of the firing model to determine the facing of the attack for the purposes of the Knight’s ion shield, but resolve the attack against its rear armour as normal.

Codex: Imperial Knights
https://www.games-workshop.com/Code...Facebook&utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=FAQ

Q: Can units with a Ballistic Skill of 0 (Patriarch Ghosar from Genestealer Cults, for example) successfully use witchfire psychic powers (like the Telepathy primaris power Psychic Shriek, for example)?
A: Yes, provided no actual To Hit roll is required.

Q: Is the Ghosar Quintus Broodkin Formation’s Ambush the Unhallowed special rule negated by other Infiltrators or Servo-skulls?
A: No.

Q: Do units with the Genestealer Cult Faction count as potential targets of special rules like the Venomthropes’ Spore Cloud or the Swarmlord’s Swarm Leader?
A: No.

Q: How does the Genestealer Cult Faction ally with Tyranids?
A: The Genestealer Cult and Tyranids Factions ally with each other as Allies of Convenience.

Deathwatch: Overkill
https://www.games-workshop.com/Deat...Facebook&utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=FAQ

Q: Can a unit with both Bikes and Infantry Run and Turbo-boost as long as they maintain coherency, or are they stopped from doing either?
A: They can both Run and Turbo-boost, but must maintain unit coherency.

Q: Can Kill Team Cassius perform a Sweeping Advance whilst they have a Terminator in the squad? Which of the models get to make Hammer of Wrath attacks (Bikes and Jump Infantry, or everyone)?
A: They cannot perform a Sweeping Advance whilst a model with Terminator armour is in the squad. Only models with the Hammer of Wrath special rule make Hammer of Wrath attacks.

Q: The members of the Deathwatch’s Squad Donatus don’t have bolt pistols. Is this right?
A: Yes.

Q: Are the Deathwatch characters with individual datasheets (such as Garran Branatar) supposed to have the Independent Character special rule?
A: No. Only Ortan Cassius and Jensus Natorian have the Independent Character special rule.

Deathwatch: Overkill
https://www.games-workshop.com/Deat...Facebook&utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=FAQ
 

·
The Emperor Protects
Joined
·
5,262 Posts
Genestealer Cult not being Battle Brothers with Nids is the stupidest thing I've ever heard. And I read most of the posts by Lux.
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
Top