Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the " its after me" rule
can a deathleaper target every model/creature with a LD
so what does target a character mean
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,523 Posts
the " its after me" rule
can a deathleaper target every model/creature with a LD
so what does target a character mean
It can target any character, but only one. Characters are defined on page 47 of the rulebook as independent characters, special characters or upgrade characters.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
agreed.
For example he can target ONE charature. A charature would be someone like a Captain, Sergeant or Telion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
enemy zoanthrope?
enemy warrior prime??

thank any way's

+ rep!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
Zoanthroes are not Characters.
The only Characters in the Tyranid codex are: Warrior Primes, Hive Tyrants IF they have joined a Tyrant Guard brood and Broodlords.
The HT is debatable, but it behaves like an IC with a retinue if there are Tyrant Guard with it so that can be argued if the conditions are met.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,461 Posts
Zoanthroes are not Characters.
The only Characters in the Tyranid codex are: Warrior Primes, Hive Tyrants IF they have joined a Tyrant Guard brood and Broodlords.
The HT is debatable, but it behaves like an IC with a retinue if there are Tyrant Guard with it so that can be argued if the conditions are met.
EDIT: Characters are upgrade charcters too >_<

Alpha Warriors are IC.

I'd disagree on Hive Tyrants. Hive Tyrants are never actually IC. Once they join their Tyrant Guard, they are effectively an another model in the unit. (From the FAQ, they are NOT treated like ICs). They can join like an IC, but mever actually become one. They still aren't even treated as Upgrade Characters IMO, but I haven't looked enough to determine.

Also, Broodlords are now entirely Upgrade Characters. They are never IC. But that of course means they can be Deathleaper-ed.

The Parasite is the second IC in the Tyranid Codex. I don't believe there are any others. :)

The rest of the Special Characters are also Characters.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
Things like Swarmlord and Old One Eye are not Characters, they are just units that consist of 1 model. Only ICs and upgrade models to a unit are Characters.

See P47.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Things like Swarmlord and Old One Eye are not Characters, they are just units that consist of 1 model. Only ICs and upgrade models to a unit are Characters.

See P47.
They are special characters, as per P49 of the BRB and P85 of the Tyrannid dex. Any character would include special characters, even though they aren't necessarily upgrade or Independent characters. It's also confirmed that they are special characters in the FAQ, and thus would be affected. Normal Hive tyrants and Tervigons aren't affected of course, though it would seem "right" if they could be.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
The only Characters in the Tyranid codex are: Warrior Primes, Hive Tyrants IF they have joined a Tyrant Guard brood and Broodlords.
The HT is debatable, but it behaves like an IC with a retinue if there are Tyrant Guard with it so that can be argued if the conditions are met.
Hive Tyrants aren't independent characters.
Hive Tyrants aren't upgrade characters.
They can't be a target for an enemy Deathleaper.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
Nothing on P85 of the codex that I can see, which bit are you referring to?
Special Characters are not listed as one of the two 'Character Types' on Page 47., and the 'It's after me' rule affects Characters and does not mention Special Characters.
The FAQ simply points out that a named model does not stop being from a particular species for biomorph purposes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
Special characters can be either upgrade or independent characters. Tyranids like Old One Eye or Deathleaper are neither, and wouldn't be valid targets. Psycho Tycho and Mephiston fall into the same category- non-character single-model units.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
According to the FAQ Yrgmal Genestealers are Special Characters as well, it looks like a simple mis-use of the term Special Character and a misunderstanding on maddermax's part.

It's confusing but again there is no Foo rule in 40K, Characters are defined as Independent Characters and Upgrade Characters. Special Characters are not Characters. Thus the Swarmlord et all are not Characters so cannot be Deathleapt or scared by Dante. Very much like Psycho-Tycho and Mephiston.

Aramoro
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,978 Posts
The IC rule is not present in the HT or SL entries. Therefore, they are not IC. Their rule of being able to join units of Tyrant Guard are specified for them, as normally a MC wouldn`t be able to do it.

Being as they have no variation of the character rule whatsoever, they are unaffected by IAM. :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
According to the FAQ Yrgmal Genestealers are Special Characters as well, it looks like a simple mis-use of the term Special Character and a misunderstanding on maddermax's part.

It's confusing but again there is no Foo rule in 40K, Characters are defined as Independent Characters and Upgrade Characters. Special Characters are not Characters. Thus the Swarmlord et all are not Characters so cannot be Deathleapt or scared by Dante. Very much like Psycho-Tycho and Mephiston.

Aramoro
Just going by the FAQ.
"Tyranid special Characters. Are Tyranid Special Characters considered to be special versions of the standard creatures of their type for the purposes of using psychic powers, biomorphs and special rules?"

A character? I don't know, but it's GWs fault one way or the other :wacko: They say Swarm Lord et al are characters, Deathleapers rule says it affects characters... And this just goes back to "GW are bad at writing rules".

Now, back to the BRB, "Armies normally include two types of characters", not that ICs and upgrades are the only types of characters there are, leaving open the possibility that there can be other types of charcters. Depending on how you do call it, remember that this will also affect, DC tycho, Mephiston, marbo and more than a few others around the place. Most of them are fearless however, so the list it actually matters for is usually all the ones with Psychic Powers: swarmlord, mephiston, Inquisitor Lord Karamazov.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
That FAQ entry also says Yrmgal Stealers are Special Characters.

You are deliberately reading it incorrectly Maddermax which doesn't help. It says they are Special Characters, NOT characters. Which are defined in the Rule Book as Independent Characters and Upgrade Characters. Like I said before and in a previous thread, there is no Foo rule in 40K so a Special Character is a Character in the same way they a Apple is a Sherman Tank.

Special Characters can be Independent Characters or Upgrade Characters but it doesn't say they must be, it just says they are Unique.

Aramoro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
I'm not deliberately misreading anything, I can assure you. I have no pony in this race, so allow me to play devils advocate for a while:victory:

Special Characters, NOT characters.
Aramoro
Special characters are characters, says so in the BRB, P49. Of course, it also says that Special Characters are independant or Upgrade characters, but don't blame me for GW changing their own meanings! Personally, if someone said that Mephiston or Marbo wasn't a character, that would seem like a rules dodge to me. However, a swarmlord being affected where a hive tyrant isn't doesn't seem right either. The true answer is.... well, GW sucks at rules writing. The same answer for a lot of other rules around the place. In a Tournament game, you'll probably have to clarify it with an opponent or TO, because there are some weird rulings around. In friendly games just Knife fight to first blood (or however you normally work it out), and call it a day. It really shouldn't come up all that often.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
I think Aramoro has it about right. Special Characters are simply unique models and are not Characters, which are defined on P47. of the BRB. For a Special Character to be affected by 'It's after me' it would need to meet the definition of a Character on P47., just having a different unit name is not enough.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top