Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've searched but can't find anything that is specific to my situation.

Let's say I have a champion with a multiple wounds (D6)-weapon that faces a unit of W3 ogres.

I get that you roll for each wound caused and that "extra wounds" (exceeding 3 wounds in this case) are lost, even for combat resolution.

But what I still can't wrap my head around is whom are these hits applied to?

Let's say that during a round of combat I have 5 attacks. I roll the dice and hit 4 of them. Now what?

  1. I haven't specifically targeted enemy units, does this mean that I simply roll multiple wounds for all 4 hits, and remove an enemy model from the back rank for every wound that's > 3?
  2. If I roll 1-2 wounds, do I place wound markers on the back rank (where the casualties are removed from) or from the front rank (on the models that I am in base contact with)
  3. What importance does my champions base contact play? Am I always limited to only placing multiple wounds on the models I am in base contact with, i.e. losing the 3 extra hits (where the models are outside of my reach)

TL;DR - Not sure whom I apply the multiple wounds to. The enemies back rank, or specific models that I have to target? Or something else?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
453 Posts
I am not truly sure if it is different in 8th edition, but I can't imagine otherwise.
See it this way: If you don't allocate your hits, and in essence thus target 1 model, all wounds are caused to the single Ogre, unless you manage to kill the ogre before wounds multiplication and score a wound on a seccond Ogre. If you target multiple Ogres (3 attacks on the first, 2 on the seccond) and manage to hit both of them, you'll cause the multiple wounds on both models, probably killing them.
It is important to know wheter the wounds multiplication happens before or after saves.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, that is the way I imagined it would play out.
So basically, unless I declare otherwise I am in essence attacking a single model, so I would be wise to divide my attacks as much as possible in this scenario.

Since casualties are removed from the back rank for practical purposes, how do you make this as smooth as possible in normal games?
I guess the wound markers really should end up on the front rank targets (since it's damage on specific models), not on the back ranks. But all other attacks, unless declared otherwise, still remove from the back rank, is this the most practical/fair approach?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
453 Posts
I'm torn between answering you immediately or waiting untill I have a rulebook available. I am not certain that you can allocate attacks amongst rank and file models. Should this not be the case however, it would still be wise to try and divide your attacks as much as possible among champions and characters.
In any case, the placement of wound counters does not really matter. The removal of casualties from the back ranks represents warriors from ranks other than the frontline stepping forward to fill the gap their fallen comrade left. Because there is no difference in their armament, it is easier to remove models from the back rank than to shift all models in the unit forward to fill up empty spaces. So keep track of wounds on the front rank, remove models from the back when they are dead.
I would say any other wounds first finish off the most heavily wounded models. In other words: other wounds are allocated such that they makes the most casualties.
I still doubt if you can allocate wounds amongst rank and file models. That character would otherwise eat Ogres for breakfast!
The situation otherwise would work as well. Say you score four wounds after saves, this means one ogre is slain outright, and one ogre suffers a wound. This wound is futher multiplicated into d6 wounds, probably killing the ogre, with excess wounds lost.
I hope this helps, but I'll look further into it once I have access to my rulebooks again, or perhaps someone else will come with a better answer!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Hah, you may be right about that.
I was so certain that CC attacks could be targeted any way you liked, but reading the BRB again they actully say that "If a model is touching enemies with different characteristic profiles, it can choose which one to attack"

So by omission I guess you can't divide between rank-and-file, just as you said.

With that in mind, does this look like a correct sequence:

1) Champion attacks. X wounds caused.
2) The X wounds kills Ogres (from the back rank of course), the remainder leaves an Ogre with (for example) 2 wounds remaining. I now roll the multiple wounds on this final strike and get a 1, so the Ogre still has 1 wound left.
3) My rank-and-file attack, and their first wound kills the previous Ogre.

This way I don't really have to keep track of special wound counters in the front rank. But I know a lot of other people have been talking about rolling a dice separately for each wound caused (as you should do according to the rules, roll multiple hits for each hit). This way feels a bit weak, and I feel like I'm missing something.

Maybe this is more correct:

1) The Champion attacks. X unmodified wounds caused. (Let's say at least 3 this time)
2) I apply the first hit to the Ogre, and then roll multiple wounds. (I roll 6 wounds, meaning I kill the Ogre and lose the 3 remaining wounds).
3) I apply the second hit, and again roll multiple wounds. (This time I scored a 2, leaving a 1 W Ogre)
4) I apply the third hit, and roll for multiple wounds. (I roll 5 wounds, meaning 4 are wasted and the 1W Ogre dies)
5) I apply the remaining hit(s) in the same way

You know, now that I wrote it out this second method really seems like the way to go. It lets me both roll for every wound caused, and still punishes me with wasting wounds. And it's really simple.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
453 Posts
If somewhere some rules state you can roll each to wound roll seperately, that'd be the way to go! Just remember that the multiple wounds roll is not added to the wounds you cause, but the caused wound is multiplies into d6 wound, if you roll a one, you still cause only one wound with that hit. Except in the case it explicitly states you can add d6 wounds. (Some magic weapons do, it is easy to miss!)
I'd still try to allocate my attacks as much as possible!

Sorry about the messy answers, but as I'm writing my own hybrid 6th & 7th edition rules, I was really curious about the solution as well!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the replies, this will be how I run it next time. If anyone reading this thinks otherwise they're welcome to chip in :D
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top