Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 92 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I just picked up Dark Heresy off of a friend. I was wondering what it is, so I just decided to borrow it from him.

I'm completely new to table top games. I mean, I have watched a few DnD matches before, but I've never really played in one. Ive been reading up on the rules and basically the whole book for the past 2 hours or so.

My main point is, is there anyone who would like to play, obviously me being new I can't be a GM, but I would love to play with a few people, new or not, and learn the ropes, and continue from there.

Now, is there any way we would play over a messenger, like IRC or something?

·
Super Moderator
6,993 Posts
Probably, you just need to find people who want to play really; if something starts up I would be more than happy to give it a go.

·
Registered
855 Posts
The biggest problem I see is that all the players would be almost required to buy/have access to a copy of the basic book at the very least.

The role playing section here on Heresy is a good place to start for even a novice roleplayer, while it isn't Dark Heresy and tends to focus more upon Astartes than other aspects of 40k... it is a great way to break into the mindset of creating a character and building a personality. It takes the stress off of the 'what stat do I roll to do X action?' and focuses more on the creative aspect of roleplaying. The section of the forums can be found here>

http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=110

Take a look around and read through some of the threads if you so desire (some are quite lengthy though very good reads). Feel free to ask questions as well either through pm's or posting on the gm's recruitment page although please take note of the age of the thread before digging up any zombies.