Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Curiouser and Curiouser
Joined
·
803 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I was thinking of fielding an Inquisitor Lord with my competitive SW list and I feel that since I can have two more HQs in addition to the lord, the wolves really benefit from allies. I'm not too sure on the role he is going to play (be it w/ just mystics or helping out as an IC in another unit) but here is my question.

So with the Holy Relic's ability to grant an extra attack to all models within 2d6 inches of him and the word of the emperor ability I feel he could make a good CC aid. The wording under holy relic kind of throws me off though. I'm not sure if I can quote verbatim from the codex here but in any case it basically specifies that "all models in the Daemonhunters army" get that extra attack.

So when he is taken as an ally, do I not get the benefit of the holy relic? If yes, then I'm going to try him out as a CC support unit. If not, then I'll keep him back with tarot and a group of mystics (I'll be giving him the tarot either way).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
60 Posts
So I was thinking of fielding an Inquisitor Lord with my competitive SW list and I feel that since I can have two more HQs in addition to the lord, the wolves really benefit from allies. I'm not too sure on the role he is going to play (be it w/ just mystics or helping out as an IC in another unit) but here is my question.

So with the Holy Relic's ability to grant an extra attack to all models within 2d6 inches of him and the word of the emperor ability I feel he could make a good CC aid. The wording under holy relic kind of throws me off though. I'm not sure if I can quote verbatim from the codex here but in any case it basically specifies that "all models in the Daemonhunters army" get that extra attack.

So when he is taken as an ally, do I not get the benefit of the holy relic? If yes, then I'm going to try him out as a CC support unit. If not, then I'll keep him back with tarot and a group of mystics (I'll be giving him the tarot either way).
I believe that when you take an inquisitor as an ally it turns your army into a Daemonhunters army. Because when i took my IG list to nationals after printing out the roster it had changed to Daemonhunters instead of IG. So maybe this would allow the extra close combat for the SW. Not sure on this. If people go RAW they might just say models in the DH codex. But if adding him as an ally changes the army definition it might confer the bonus. You'd have to look at the wording on allies in the DH codex.
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
I would say thats an interesting little part of the rules... and also a little dodgy one with the way GW have worked DH currently.

Taking alies from DH/WH is odd at the moment since GW posted their codexs online but removed the alies rules... then they put up some blurb about not being able to use alies if you print off the online codex, but since they havent re-released teh codex anyone with the current book can use those rules if they so wish. Yes, its another of those rulings that make you want to kick GW head office staff until they grow a spine and decide one way or the other (rather then a stupid- you can do it how you want, answer).

The wording of Holy Relic is strange because normally similar items will say either "friendly units" or "your army"... the first is fine and would allow anyone to get the benefits, the second normally works with DH/WH alies but doesnt if you play a doubles/apoc game. With how its worded I would say when taking an inquisitor/lord as an ally in a SW/SM army you get no benefits at all from the holy relic since there are no models from the Daemonhunters army in range of the Holy Relic- there is no DH army. However, if you choose DH as your main army and have SM/SW alies then you'll be fine and it'll work normally... except that if you take marines you cant take greay knights so will have to have some storm troopers and will be a little more limitted in your unit choices.

Of course, the big alternative in this is that you could just agree with friends that the exact wording sux, and just use it as its meant to be- any model in your 'army' getting the bonus regardless of the name of the army (its not like a marines is going to turn round and say "wow, thats inspiring, I think I'll fight harder...oh, hang on, thats the inquisitor who joined us rather then requesting our presence.... lame").
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top