Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a question about the Crimson Slaughter supplement:
The rules state that units in a Crimson Slaughter detachment cannot take the VotLW rule. Does this mean that they can't include units that already have the VotLW special rule, like Daemon Princes, Thousand Sons, or Abbadon the Despoiler?
From a fluff standpoint, it makes a lot of sense if they can't. Those are all characters you wouldn't find in a Crimson Slaughter army.

So am I allowed to run a unit of Draznicht's Ravagers with Abbadon the Despoiler, or not?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,689 Posts
IIRC you would only be able to include units with VotLW via an ally detachment (or however that systems works in 7th).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
959 Posts
My interpretation of it is that you can only give the the VotLW upgrade to the three units listed (Berserkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines). I believe, though, that you can still use units that have the rule built in, like Daemon Princes and Thousand Suns. I think the rule was only saying that you cannot purchase the VotLW upgrade unless you are one of the three cult units. It doesn't say anything that about not being allowed to take units that have it built in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Sturk is right. Any unit that has the option to take it apart fro Berserkers, Plague Marines, Noise Marines can not take it.
This also means you can't give it to your Chaos Lord, Sorcerer, Warpsmith or even Dark Apostle (what gets it for free as an option).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
As stated above, and clearly in the rules, you cannot BUY the upgrade for anything else than Cult Marines. However you CAN (ask not why...) include VoTL characters.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
The rule's exact text is:
"When choosing a Crimson Slaughter detachment, the only units that can take the Veterans of the Long War special rule are Khorne Berzerkers, Plague Marines and Noise Marines."
It wasn't really clear to me if it's talking about taking it as an upgrade or taking it into the game.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top