Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
just a quick couple of questions

with cover saves if the units attacking each other have parts of the units obscured by let's say rocks do they all get the saving throw or only the ones in cover?

also from our interpretation if more than half of the figures in each unit are visible to each other then they don't get the saving throw effect?

also not quite sure about firing into a hand to hand combat situation does the opposing unit receive a cover save or does the "own unit" rule work in this situation.

and finally the casualties can be removed from behind the cover or is it the ones in site.

thanks guys
Rob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
220 Posts
cover saves, regarding units, are considered based on the number of members in the given unit. for example, if you have an 8 man squad and 3 are in cover, no save. if 5 are in cover, then you get a 4+ save.

if you're shooting and can see more than half of the squad then they get no cover save. if you see exactly half or just maybe a bit more or less than half, it's a 5+ (has to be agreed upon mutually). if you see 3 of 8 (less than half), then they get the 4+. got that?

you cannot shoot into an engaged hand to hand circumstance.

you can remove casualties from anywhere in that squad, regardless of LoS. depending on wound allocation of course.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
564 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks very much for that
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Only thing to correct here is that a squad gains cover when it is half or more obscured, not more than half. (BRB pg 22, rt column, 2nd paragraph)

Yes, GW really needs to learn what the word "majority" means.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,028 Posts
Saves are still based on the type of object providing the cover right? Its not all just a 4+ save. Fences are like a 5+, bunkers a 3+ ect...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
220 Posts
correct.

if half or more are in cover then..

..razorwire, wire mesh confer a 6+
fence, hedges confer a 5+
rocks, wall.. confer a 4+
fortified buildings confer a 3+


pg. 21, 'Cover Chart'
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,926 Posts
correct.

if half or more are in cover then..

..razorwire, wire mesh confer a 6+
fence, hedges confer a 5+
rocks, wall.. confer a 4+
fortified buildings confer a 3+


pg. 21, 'Cover Chart'
When did THIS exist?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Two things I saw on the weekend.
1. Squad of 12 Kroot, 5 in a GW crator and the rest (7) standing behind it relative to a squad of SM shooting at the Kroot. Now I would think that the Kroot would get a cover save, but the SM player said that more than 1/2 were not in cover so the save didn't apply.
2. Pathfinders placed on a rise at the back of a table were behind a squad of Firewarriors. The Pathfinders were being shot at by a Land raider and elevated enough so that they were not obscured but the Firewarriors. No cover save was given to the Pathfinders.

Were both of these situations played correctly?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,807 Posts
Two things I saw on the weekend.
1. Squad of 12 Kroot, 5 in a GW crator and the rest (7) standing behind it relative to a squad of SM shooting at the Kroot. Now I would think that the Kroot would get a cover save, but the SM player said that more than 1/2 were not in cover so the save didn't apply.
2. Pathfinders placed on a rise at the back of a table were behind a squad of Firewarriors. The Pathfinders were being shot at by a Land raider and elevated enough so that they were not obscured but the Firewarriors. No cover save was given to the Pathfinders.

Were both of these situations played correctly?
Yes this is correct.
Half or more Kroot should be in the crater to give a cover save, which they were not.
The Pathfinders had no cover as they were above the Fire Warriors.

SGMAlice
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
1. Squad of 12 Kroot, 5 in a GW crator and the rest (7) standing behind it relative to a squad of SM shooting at the Kroot. Now I would think that the Kroot would get a cover save, but the SM player said that more than 1/2 were not in cover so the save didn't apply.
This isn't very clear.
5 of them were inside the crater, which itself is high enough to grant a Cover Save, and the rest were behind it?
They would get a Cover Save, since The whole squad is partially obscured from sight; assuming I've understood you right, then he was wrong.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,461 Posts
they are obscured by both the other Kroot and the Crater.
It would just be the crater, squads don't give themselves cover. It all depends on how far behind the crate the kroot where, and how far back/high the attacker is.

If two or more are partially covered by the crater (which would be difficult unless the crater had high sides) then they would get cover.

If not, still no cover save as only 5 are in cover from area terrain, which is less than half.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,807 Posts
It would just be the crater, squads don't give themselves cover.
It was merely a point of reference.

The wording of this seems to be somewhat obscure. Maybe a clearer description is needed by the OP

SGMAlice
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
No on the crater one ("behind it" still grants cover, not just "in it")

Yes on the Pathfinders (if you can see over intervening things, no cover)
 
1 - 20 of 28 Posts
Top