Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So in some recent threads there were comparing to Magic: The Gathering to 40K. As a former Magic player myself, I thought I'd write a little explanation of how Magic tournaments work and the how and why some cards are banned/restricted.

I should also mention, I stopped playing Magic about 10 years ago, was because I started playing 40K :eek:k:
Wizards of the Coast make Magic cards in various sets. There’s the main set (ex: 10th edition, 11th edition, etc) which gets updated every few years or so. Then there are the expansions and a new one comes out about every 3 or 4 months. Each set has approximately 150 to 300 and the expansions also often add new rules too in the form of 'card mechanics.' Kind of like special rules or unique abilities for certain cards.

Within each set, only about 15 to 20 are really any good. This is an actual complaint among some Magic players. Wizards explains this as intentional – like something of a 'noob trap.'

Anyway, tournaments are the corner stone of Wizard's business model. In order to sell more cards, Wizards organizes at least two different tournament types. Back in my day, these were Type I and Type II (now called Vintage and Standard) along with a few others.

Type II or Standard is the primary tournament format. In Standard, only the newest expansions plus the main set are used. This is to level the playing field between the older and newer players (see Type I below). So when a new expansion comes out, about a month later the oldest expansion is “rotated out” and the new one is “rotated in.” So basically, players have to buy new cards every 3 or 4 months to stay competitive.