Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We played a battle the other day there where certain unit were help in reserve. One of these units was a 12 strong Bretonian KoR unit with a Paladin BSB. Now the rules state you place the back edge of the unit on the table and move from there. This unit was obviously 15" long and could then move a further 8", meaning it had moved a mighty 23" onto the table.

Did we do this right or did we miss something?

Aramoro
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Page 27 – Reinforcements
Add “In addition, all the models in the unit must be set up so
that they are within twice their Movement rate of the battlefield
edge that they entered from.” to the end of the second
paragraph
This is kind of rubbish since it means you can start 2* movement on and then make another move.. to be 3* your move rate onto the board. So a unit with movement 9 can potentially make it 27" onto the board in 1 turn. Personally I would play it that they can only get to double their movement after the move- reading them being 'set up' after they make their move. I'm deliberately reading the rules incorrectly though, and am doing so for fun (and because its stupid it doesnt work like that- they 'move' onto the board, they dont teleport into position and then move).
- at least the FAQ stops the zombie conga line crossing th eboard in 1 turn then reforming on their second turn (and then danced into combat).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
630 Posts
You measure from the front of the unit, from the table edge. So his 15" long unit would end up 16" onto the table (march move). You don't deploy the unit then move.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You measure from the front of the unit, from the table edge. So his 15" long unit would end up 16" onto the table (march move). You don't deploy the unit then move.
Can you tell me where this comes from? We tried reading the rule book and all we found was.

Page 27 said:
Units that enter the battle (also reffered to as moving onto the board) as reinforcements are place in base contact with the board edge (upon which board edge, and where, will depend upon the rule that triggers the reinforcement) facing directly towards the battlefield with all it's rear rank touching the battlefield edge

A unit that enters as reinforcements cannot charge as it has missed it's opportunity to declare charges, and it may not march, but can otherwise participate in the game normally....
Then we have FAQ that Tim/Steve posted. What stops the unit from moving normally? Or is 'Reinforcements' a move if so why bother saying they cannot March, just say they cannot move.

Aramoro
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Yes, Im afraid Nagash is just plain wrong. Thats how it works in 40k, more or less how it used to work in 7th but in no way how it works in 8th... where big units can make huge inroads into the board when entering from reserves while small units can barely move on at all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I think it's just particularly pronounced with Lances of Knight where a Lance of 15 can end up Half way across the board from entering play. It does mean if they pursue off the board they wont be able to hit anything when they come back on though.

Aramoro
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top