Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
1. If the combat is drawn what do i do ?

2. advancing and consolidating ? HOW ?


1. If the combat is drawn then then next turn you go by Initiative. No one wins or loses so no one takes Leadership test or anything silly.

2. If and whenever you win a combat you get to move. If you win a combat on the first turn of the combat then you get a D6 consolidation anywhere you want, temies never get a D6 but always get a 3inch consolidation.
If you chase or wipe out the unit on the 2nd assault turn or later then you only get a 3inch consolidation.


If you play an assaulty army you HAVE to know those rules, but other than that really anything else if good.

I hope that this post has solved your questions. Later!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
If drawn then you both do a 6" pile in move. you both move UNengaged models up to 6" to contact enemy models. move your closest to his closest and so on. player whos turn it is moves his unit(s) 1rst.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Correlohn said:
2. If and whenever you win a combat you get to move. If you win a combat on the first turn of the combat then you get a D6 consolidation anywhere you want, temies never get a D6 but always get a 3inch consolidation.
If you chase or wipe out the unit on the 2nd assault turn or later then you only get a 3inch consolidation.
This is what I've been told many times, but when I was reading the rulebook, I noticed that the entry for "Massacre!" simply says that for a "Massacre!" result to occur, one side destroys the other side completely. It also says that every successful sweeping advance counts as a "Massacre!" result, and thus allows a d6 consolidation move.
I've seen a lot of people play it so that massacres only happen when a combat is won in one round, but, unless I missed something in the rulebook, consolidation is always d6 when a unit wipes out another, regardless of how long it took.

So, if my understanding is correct, combat results work like this:
If a fleeing unit is run down at any time because of combat, the winners may consolidate d6". When one side wipes out another, the winners consolidate d6". The ONLY situation in which the winners consolidate 3" is when the losers successfully flee. Also, it is worth mentioning that
1. The winners of a combat may not pursue a fleeing foe if no enemy models are in base to base contact after casualties are removed. In this case, the winner consolidates 3" and the losers flee without worrying about the initiative roll.
2. A pile in move is 6" and must be made like moving charging units (closest to closest pathway, as Deceiver pointed out). It also cannot be used to engage new units, but a consolidation move can. In other words, pile in move = engaging more models into a continuing combat; consolidation move = extra move after a combat is finished. ONLY when a combat is finished may a unit in combat initiate combat with another enemy unit.

Correlohn said:
If you play an assaulty army you HAVE to know those rules, but other than that really anything else if good.
I second that. Even when playing an army like tau, it is useful to know these rules so that you won't be cheated and so that you can make wiser decisions, such as pulling casualties from the models in b2b contact.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Well I could never get D6 when i chased someone down and it really sucks that one rule. Otherwise when I play like, oh I dunno, 60! rending atacks on a big unit of termies. Lets just say either I know the rules or you get slaughtered... and yeah B2B cheaters really annoy people.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top