Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Chapter Tactics when using two Space Marine special characters?

2396 Views 33 Replies 15 Participants Last post by  jaws900
If you were using two Space Marine special characters in a tourney list, say Pedro and Lysander, would there be any injunction in the rules against using different chapter tactics in different battles, or would it depend on the tournament?
1 - 3 of 34 Posts
As already stated, your best bet is to ask the TO. If it were my tourney, my answer would be pick one and stay with it. Same answer GW gave for BT vows back in the day.
i dont think that the vows of the BT are a good refrense as the vows are a upgrade this is more a special rule. and its a option you can swap the combat tactics you dont have too and thats what makes this so difficult too rule. i think different TO's will have different rullings

but personally i think its fare too swap tactics its pretty clever this way you can maximise the effect of your army do you need extra though men or more scoring units.
Hmmm........... Let's see, a vow that affects the entire army or a majority of the units by giving it a special ability vs a character that affects the entire army or a majority of it by giving it a special ability...... Hmmmmm, really, looks the same to me. Except that BT used to get it for free which is why it became a tourney question. No points cost, so why can't I change it between games, it's not changing my list.......... Yeah, right, tell me another one.

The usual idea behind a tourney is that you're taking the same army against all opponents. If you can change your special rules in between games, you have an unfair advantage. Which is why GW said no to the BT players and why I would say no to this one.
The Black Templar comparison is flawed anyway as you must pay different costs for each vow, you might as well be swapping out wargear as changing vows.
That would be true if I hadn't specified OLD rules back when they got it for free. Reading comprehension - fail................:laugh:

But I would definitely clear it with any tournie guy first before just springing it on someone.
And this is the only real answer. Ask the TO. If you're coming to one I'm running, don't bother with taking two expensive characters..
1 - 3 of 34 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.