Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK. So I am building a deathwing army. Besides the master of the deathwing, I want to have a chaplain. I plan on placing him in a unit of close assault terminators with pairs of lightning claws and an assault cannon. Should I get the chaplain a lightning claw as well?

They have 2 attacks base. A pair of lightning claws would make it 3 attacks and then charging bonus would bring it to 4 attacks each (except the guy with the assault cannon. He's going to have a chain fist). If I do my math correct I'm looking at 24 attacks on the charge.

Chaplain will have 2 base attacks, +1 for terminator honors, +1 for 2 close combat weapons, and +1 for the charge. That's 5.

The squad will have 4 guys with paired lightning claws. That's 2 attacks, +1 for two close combat weapons, +1 for charging. That's 16 more.

The last Terminator will have an assault cannon and a chainfist. That's 2 attacks and +1 for charging. That's another 3.

THe total comes to 24 attacks. They reroll failed to-hits and failed to-wounds with power weapons.

Think this is nuts? :D
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
He comes with a crozius... might as well leave him with it. He's there to make the assault squad re-roll its misses on the charge, not to win the assault on his own. You could add some firepower to the unit by giving him a combi-melta, combi-plasma, or storm bolter though. Especially if you want to have an assault cannon in the mixed unit-- it makes it a surprisingly tactical squad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm not going to take the crozuis away, just add a lightning claw as a second close combat weapon.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Technically you have to pay the full 30 and give him a pair of LCs or else he won;t get a second attack.

I did that on my chaplain, but he was the only one in the squad with a power weapon or LCs (excpt a powerfist or two...death company)

In this case, when there's already so many LCs in an already expensive unit, I'd be tempted to min down the chaplain
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Why doesn't he get the second attack? I read through the rules last night and the FAQ. It did not saying anything about having to take a pair to qualify as an extra close combat weapon. He has a Crozuis and a Lightning Claw. That's two close combat weapons. Did I miss something somewhere?

BTW, my regular chaplain costs 166 points. Armed this way, the chaplain only costs 165 points. So what's the problem with the points costs? I'm giving him Terminator Honors, Terminator Armor, and a Lightning Claw.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
It's in the description of the LC in the SM codex. Why else would you pay 5 points more for 1 if buying a 1pd bolt pistol would get you a second attack and a shooting attack?

I'm not saying it isn't worth the points, just that it's an expensive option and considering the proliferation of LCs, you could get by without it. If you want to go for it though, by all means.

It works very, very well. But there's times I look at my chaplain and wish I couldshave some points off. (especially considering BA chaplains are expensive as fuck anyhow)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
Pg 46 of the main rulebook...

"Lightning Claws are usually used as matched pairs, as only a second lightning claw can provide an additional close combat weapon attack bonus for a model equipped with one."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Sweet. Thanks.

I already re-modeled my chaplain with a lightning claw and he looks Bad @ss. I am not going to change him again.

My normal space marine chaplain costs 176 points and has:
Plasma Pistol, Artificer Armor, Frag Grenades, Melta Bombs, Jump Pack,
Terminator Honors

So a cheaper Chaplain that has terminator armor, Lightning claws, and Terminator honors totalling 170 points is actually a nice break. :wink:
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
I had the same issue, so I modeled his second LC into his base. It was ripped off while he assaulted a tank, apparently ;-)


 

·
Banned
Joined
·
677 Posts
Ohh, the old LotD veteran sergeant w bionic arm? The base is kind of cluttered which takes away from him as a whole, but it's remarkable how fast those apothecaries throw new arms on their men! Still stumped around their feet!
Damn good choice for a chaplain model though.

-Khaine-
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Who says he lost his arm in that?

It's hard to tell from those pics, but the LC gauntlet is hollowed out. The explosion ripped the gauntlet off his powerarmor, revealing the skeletal bionic arm beneath.

As for the base, I think it could be the fact that the base has more color than the model right now that's making it look like it;s drowning him out. I also plan on spreading it out a bot, giving him a larger base that that one slots into, so maybe it won't look so cluttered then...It's hard to fit an important piece of wargear like a LC onto a small base after all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
Here's Chappy (with lightning claw):



 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
I always did like LC's myself. Something about being able to reroll missed wounds with a power weapon just give a fellow the tingles :)
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Looks pretty slick! Though I was never much a fan of the new 'knuckleduster" style LC


If you wanted hi to get the extra attackw itout chopping a hand off the mode, you could hollow out another LC and then sling it onto his back, like he carries it around until he's about to charge in, then he holsters the CA and straps on the LC
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
I actually thought about doing that. As long as I pay the points for the extra lightning claw (and tell my opponent) that's all that matters.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Pay the points and stuck it on the model. You don't have to tell them if it;s clearly represented on the model (though it is rather sportsmanly of you to do so)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I agree with Galahad
telling your opponent you have twin lcs and not have them on the model in a tourney could gte you into wysiwyg hell and thats not worth it

i love the hollowed out lc idea nice touch i do that with all my marines that dont have helmets i hollow out a helmet and hang it from the belt
 
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
Top