Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I am just starting WH40K and have some basic questions, I need some experienced advice. I am getting a big bunch of Chaos Terminators next week ... I got a good deal on them. They are partly assembled, but will have a big mixture of arms that I can mix and match.

The right arms available will include multiple Reaper Autocannon, Combi Bolters, Combi Flamers, and Combi Meltas. Left arms will be Powerfists, Power Weapons, Chainfists, and Lightning Claws.

My question is, how would you configure (meaning number of termies and what weapons in each hand?) a Chaos Terminator Squad(s), if you say wanted it to be good at killing enemy space marine terminators? or killing just regular space marines or large numbers of less well-armored infantry? Or for killing vehicles? What are you favorite configurations of a chaos terminator squad and how come?

Also, some other really basic questions:

I have this random chaos terminator arm that has a double chainfist, that is, two chain blades on it. I do not have the model for it though, just the arm. Is it illegal to attach this arm to a chaos terminator? What is this weapon called, how does it work in the game?

I have an old model with an old style autocannon (the single barrel kind). Can I use him, or does he have to be re-done using a Reaper Autocannon?

I have another old chaos terminator model with a Daemon Sword. Can this be used to represent a "power weapon" or can I just not use this model under the most current rules?

Some Combi-Bolters have chainsaw "bayonets." Do these work like a Chainfist?

Finally, any general advice you can give on equipping or using chaos terminators is welcome.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
My question is, how would you configure (meaning number of termies and what weapons in each hand?) a Chaos Terminator Squad(s), if you say wanted it to be good at killing enemy space marine terminators? or killing just regular space marines or large numbers of less well-armored infantry? Or for killing vehicles? What are you favorite configurations of a chaos terminator squad and how come?

Depends on how you want to use them. Vehicle killers are best off with Reaper Autocannons so they can pop light armour at range with maybe a chainfist or two for the odd time they will get to charge a tank.

As for killing infantry, of any kind, an all Lightning claw squad is death on wheels for just about anything. Getting to reroll those missed wound rolls is huge and I have seen Assault Terminators rip entire squads to shreds with it. Give them the Icon of Slaanesh for Initiative 5 and you are going to be shredding most things without taking attacks back (obviously there are exceptions to this). This is my personal favourite config for term although I use the Mark of Tzeentch to get the 4+ inv save as well.

I have this random chaos terminator arm that has a double chainfist, that is, two chain blades on it. I do not have the model for it though, just the arm. Is it illegal to attach this arm to a chaos terminator? What is this weapon called, how does it work in the game?
It is just a cooler looking chainfist, no special rules and is perfectly legal to go on ANY terminator model.

I have another old chaos terminator model with a Daemon Sword. Can this be used to represent a "power weapon" or can I just not use this model under the most current rules?
Any weapon can represent a power weapon so you can use this model without a problem.

Some Combi-Bolters have chainsaw "bayonets." Do these work like a Chainfist?
No, they are just cool looking bitz.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I am a bit disappointed that the double chainfist and the chainsaw bayonet are only for cosmetic purposes. :shok:

The Terminators I have, and some I'm getting, seem to only have left arm Lightning Claws. Are Lightning Claws ever worth equiping with if its just one, not two? I read that they don't receive the same bonuses. But, maybe they are still worth it in some situations? Maybe I should say it like this ... is there any situation you'd want to have a chaos termie with x shooting weapon plus a lightning claw?
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Sure, most. The single claw still gives you the rerolled wounds, you just lose out on the extra attack that 2 gives you. But if you are shooting a rapid fire bolter just before you charge anyway, you actually get MORE attacks in total.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Oh I see. So, for massacreing a lot of infantry, maybe a squad of 5 Chaos Terminators, all with 1 lightning claw as their left arms, and for their right arms 1 Reaper Autocannon and 4 Combi Flamers? Or is the combi-bolter better in that situation? I could call these my Cuisine-Art squad ? Cuisine Art BBQ Squad ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,374 Posts
Sure, most. The single claw still gives you the rerolled wounds, you just lose out on the extra attack that 2 gives you. But if you are shooting a rapid fire bolter just before you charge anyway, you actually get MORE attacks in total.
sorry Wraith, you cant charge if you fire rapid fire weapons. the way i got twin lightning claws was buying a box of SM assault termies and converting them.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Yes you can. Page 86 of the chaos codex, under Terminator armour explicitly states that you may charge after firing rapid fire and heavy weapons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Yes you can. Page 86 of the chaos codex, under Terminator armour explicitly states that you may charge after firing rapid fire and heavy weapons.
Could it truely be .... evidence of a clear, concise, unambiguous rule from GW!

Mind you it took how many re-writes of the rules for Terminator Armour.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
the space marine entry states only heavy weapons may move, fire. the rapid fire and assault entry is missing.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yeah its totally BS.. reading through the SM Codex and the CRB again.. a rules lawyer could actually say that Space Marines (not Chaos) are no longer able to assualt after shooting heavy/rapid fire weapons and dont count as stationary with rapid fire weapons.

The wording in Codex: Space Marine states.. ".., Space Marines in Terminator armor are capable of moving and fireing heavy weapons." The whole part about rapid fire weapons and still being able to assualt has been removed.
:angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry: :angry:

GW we need FAQS!!! NOW!!
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Note that the chaos codex does NOT say they count as stationary for rapid fire weapons. They may move and fire heavies and charge after firing heavies and rapid fires but they can't shoot a full 24" on the move with a bolter. Makes no sense by RAW and I firmly believe they are meant to be able to do so (this includes SM's) but you will never get that past a rules lawyer.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top