Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just wondering if someone could clarify he rules for summoning greater and lesser daemons for me

thanks
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Only if you can clarify what bits are confusing to you. ;-)

Seriously though, it's hard to explain something when you;re not sure what's got the person confused.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well im pretty confident in lesser daemons they arrive as reserves and if within 6" of an icon they dont scatter is that right? with greater daemons do they arrive in a similar fashion or do the posess models e.g. chaos lord aspring champion on a d6 roll?
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Close. Lessers *must* be placed within 6" of an icon when they come out of reserves, but they do not scatter. If there are no icons on the table (or the only icon also arrived from reserves this turn) they they cannot appear and are destroyed. If the icon is inside a transport then the daemons appear up to 6" from the hull of the transport.

Lessers always come within 6" of an icon and never scatter.

When greaters arrive from reserves, you must select a champion, sorcerer (regular or aspiring) or lord for it to possess. Icons do not matter. Pick one of those characters and he possesses that guy as outlined on p61

If there are no such characters on the board then the daemon is destroyed.
If the chosen character is inside a transport then the model immediately deploys up to 2" away from an access point and the daemon appears there.

It's all spelled out in the boxed text on p61 of the new codex. If you need help or advice on anything else, just ask.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
No problem.
Anything else I can help with?
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Are you sure that they (Lesser Daemons) are destroyed if there are no Icons present?? I thought you couldnt even attempt to summon them unless the Icon was present. I dont have my codex handy to check it.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
There's no choice in when you summon them.

They basically summon themselves as soon as they become available from reserves. If they should become available at a time when no icons are present (or when no characters are present for Greaters) the daemons go poof.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
One more question on this topic please. Do Marks of Chaos act in the same manner of Icons when it comes to summoning? If a model has a Mark, but no Icon, can the daemon summon to it? can the Terminator or Obliterator deep strike to it? I'm thinking no but wanted to be sure. Thanks.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top