Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
got a few questions, can i attach a chaos lord to a chaos marine squad or termie squad and be able to attach/detach from that squad mid game? also if he's with the termie squad can he deepstrike with them? and will the attached squad have to be dedicated to the same god as the lord?

-thanks in advance
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
got a few questions, can i attach a chaos lord to a chaos marine squad or termie squad and be able to attach/detach from that squad mid game? also if he's with the termie squad can he deepstrike with them? and will the attached squad have to be dedicated to the same god as the lord?

-thanks in advance
Sorry it took a while to get to this. There's a couple threads taking everyone;s focus right now ;-)

Yes, you can attach and detach an Independent Character from any squad, at any point during your Movement Phase. (See p50 'Characters' in the main rulebook)

If your Lord has Terminator Armour, then he may deepstrike as your Terminators do. And, assuming they;re both available on the same turn, he can deploy as part of their unit.

However, and this is important, you must roll for their availability separately. When you choose to deploy with Deep Strike, then you place the unit in Reserve. Every turn after the first you make a roll (based on the table on p85) to see if the unit is available. If it becomes available, it *must* be deployed.

So there is a chance that your Lord could come up before your Terminators, or vice versa.

For that reason, I prefer not to put ICs in deep-striking terminator squads.

And no, you do not have to have the same mark.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Check Gal's sig for what I said in another thread. It applies here as well, he is right on the money.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,003 Posts
Unless its an actual command squad he can not be detached until the whole squad is killed, he can join or leave a normal squad though.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Chaos SM don't have command squads anymore.
And Dark Angel Command Squads (And Blood Angel Honour Guard) are independent units now as well...which makes deployment from reserves practically impossible since you only get to roll for one unit per FOC slot per turn.

Personally, and this is strictly a houserule, my group plays it so that if you declare an IC attached to a reserve unit *before* you roll for said unit then they become available and deploy at the same time...but if the unit isn;t available, neither is the IC.

But that's a houserule.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
A house rule that should have been included in the codex. I mean what the hell was GW thinking when they took out the ability for the lord to attach pre-game? I mean it's like they were trying to make the lord more easily killed. They took away the uber lord of the old codex, but took it too far with that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
yeah, because its an independent character, you can detach it from squads
also, chaos marines dont have CM
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top