Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In the Codex on pg95 of the codex it says this under options
One close combat arm (along with it's twin-linked bolter) may be replaced with a missile launcher for no additional cost. If the Dreadnought is left with no close combat arms, it's attacks are reduced to 2, and it is no longer armed with a dreadnoguht close combat weapon
This puzzled me. I knwo they when taking your dread equipment that if you don't take any DCCW's then you lose 1 attack. that makes sence but from the the wording that is the Dread loses it during the game will he lsoe that one attack?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
390 Posts
No he just loses the double strength and armour negation. Doesn't make sense I know but that's the RAW.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,410 Posts
Dreads ALWAYS have their base attacks.
EVEN if you replace the one DCCW with a shooting weapon. Thus a dread with one dccw and a shooting weapon has x attacks, and still has x attacks when you replace the dccw with a shooting weapon. It can't lose one attack from this as it never had two DCCW to start with.
If you swap the one shooting weapon you start with FOR a 2nd dccw, you get +1A (because it NOW has TWO dccw).

They only LOSE attacks by immobilised damage results, or if they have two dccw and you destroy one of them.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Except for Chaos Dreads...which use the above quoted rules and lose 1 attack if the Missile Launcher is taken.

It is worded that way because the other arm may be a DCCW and it have a Missile Launcher and a DCCW. It is dependent on what is chosen for the first arm as to how many attacks the Dread ends up with.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
No, Chaos Dreads have 3 attacks base and drop to 2 if they do not have a single DCCW. With a DCCW they have 3A and with two they have 4A. For less than the cost of a SM Dread.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
No, Chaos Dreads have 3 attacks base and drop to 2 if they do not have a single DCCW. With a DCCW they have 3A and with two they have 4A. For less than the cost of a SM Dread.
but they also have a 1/3 chance of going WTFIMAFUCKINGKEEELJOO! on random things o.o and either not get to shoot or not get to assult o.o
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
596 Posts
Obligatory 'It was better in 3.5': Double base attacks was better. :ireful2:

:p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
365 Posts
Yeah, but a chance for a Fleet Dread is kinda cool though!
Completely negated by the new Fire Frenzy. The old rules stated the dread would fire on the nearest enemy unit in sight (a 180degree arc in front of him) or nearest friendly unit if no enemies were in range, so you had to be mindful of straying into that area. The new rules state the dread will rotate on the spot and fire on the nearest unit. This will virtually always be a friendly unit, meaning shooty dreads are made of suck and fail, and even CC dreads will be tied up unless you upgrade both combi-bolters to heavy flamers and stay out of template range. My expensive Forge World dread collects dust now, as it has a Plasma Cannon and Havoc Launcher (which aren't even an option for dreads now), which means hot template doom for my own men if it fire frenzies. It occasionally sees action as a flanker in Apocalypse games, where I can keep anything it's capable of hurting out of range.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Completely negated by the new Fire Frenzy. The old rules stated the dread would fire on the nearest enemy unit in sight (a 180degree arc in front of him) or nearest friendly unit if no enemies were in range, so you had to be mindful of straying into that area. The new rules state the dread will rotate on the spot and fire on the nearest unit. This will virtually always be a friendly unit, meaning shooty dreads are made of suck and fail, and even CC dreads will be tied up unless you upgrade both combi-bolters to heavy flamers and stay out of template range. My expensive Forge World dread collects dust now, as it has a Plasma Cannon and Havoc Launcher (which aren't even an option for dreads now), which means hot template doom for my own men if it fire frenzies. It occasionally sees action as a flanker in Apocalypse games, where I can keep anything it's capable of hurting out of range.
But you can only upgrade 1 weapon to heavy flamer.

Anyway so know we know whats what i'll try and explain the questiona gian as it eiather didn't get answered or i'm stupid(Probbly the latter :p)

Dread with 1 CCW - 3 Attack base
Dread with 2 CCW - 3(4) attacks
Dread with 0 CCW - 2 Base attacks

Now if a dread with 1 DCCW loses his only weapon DURING the game would he lose 1 attack?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
594 Posts
No. The 3 attacks is his unmodified statline, so his attacks wont go below 3 from having a weapon destroyed.

He WILL however lose the double strength and Power Weapon qualities provided by the DCCW (as he is now essentially headbutting 3 people a turn).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Jaws900 said:
Now if a dread with 1 DCCW loses his only weapon DURING the game would he lose 1 attack?
Yes, because it's rules specify that it has 2 attacks with no DCCW.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
365 Posts
Yes, because it's rules specify that it has 2 attacks with no DCCW.
If you want to take it word for word it says that he is reduced to 2 Attacks if he has no close combat arms. It makes no distinction between a close combat arm that has an intact or destroyed DCCW. If it mentioned the weapon specifically I'd agree with you. As it is I only agree he keeps his 3 base attacks because that's what the Loyalist scum get too.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top