Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
title says it all. I have never used them before and my latest list relies quite haevily on them any help on load out, tips, what shouldnt i do etc

·
Registered
1,372 Posts
What do you want them to do in your army?

If you want to deepstrike troops onto them using the icon as a teleport homer, a mark of nurgle and a first-turn turboboost makes them very difficult to remove before those deepstrikers get in. Throw in an aspiring champion and a greater daemon for a devastating summon point.

If you want them to be fast assault troops, an icon of khorne, some meltas/flamers, and a power weapon (or fist) can be a good option (having a lord ride with them is also a good plan). This is a bit pricey for even a fast assault unit, however, as each biker costs more than a terminator.

So, figure out what you want to do with your bikers, and then prep them for this role. Given their cost, they aren't particularly good at much except to act as a summon point/anti-infantry unit possibly with some meltas for tank hunting with the inevitably depleted squad.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Agreed. The best use for them is as a Nurgle T6 horde-beater or a deep strike magnet (go-go-gadget-obliterators!) However the manouverability of bikes plays to your advantage, you have to keep in mind they're the kind of unit that needs an assigned role in a combined-arms force. The melta/melta/power fist combination is a great tank hunter, but will attract shedloads of fire. Khorne and flamers mince basic infantry like guard. Decide what you want them to do and tailor their upgrades around it.

·
Registered
621 Posts
If you want to deepstrike troops onto them using the icon as a teleport homer, a mark of nurgle and a first-turn turboboost makes them very difficult to remove before those deepstrikers get in. Throw in an aspiring champion and a greater daemon for a devastating summon point