Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok this is a hard one I think... During a game my librarian successfully cast endurance on a tactical squad, giving them a load of buffs but the one buff I'm questioning is RELENTLESS.

My understanding is, A space marine with a heavy weapon can only fire at his full BS if he doesn't move, but with relentless you can move 6" and shoot at full BS.

So....

If in turn one i cast endurance, the marine will have relentless until the end of the next psychic phase. In the start of turn 2 he still has relentless so I move him 6". Then the power runs out, in the shooting phase can the guy with a heavy weapon fire at his full BS as technically he had relentless when he moved, or will he snap fire?

Or have I completely miss understood the relentless rule?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
I would say no, he does not have Relentless in the shooting phase and he moved that turn.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
But he moved with relentless in effect... The power runs out in his shooting phase.

As I read the rule it says relentless counts as the units hasn't moved, so when the power was In affect when he moved you could class him as not moving... This is confusing to explain :)

So when it ran out it was if the unit was still stationary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My brain hurts
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,195 Posts
You have to break it into phases.

Movement
Psychic
Shooting
Assault

There is also a 'start' and a 'end' of turn.

So during the second shooting phase your models do not have the Relentless USR because the Psychic phase happens before this. Unless of course you cast it again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm still not convinced though, here's my way of looking at it:

TURN 1:
Movement (no endurance inc. RELENTESS)
Psychic (Endurance cast giving RELENTLESS)
Shooting (RELENTLESS)
Assault (RELENTLESS)

TURN 2:
Movement (RELENTLESS) unit moves (relentless states a unit counts as not moved even if moved 6" able to fire at there full BS)
Psychic (New Psychic Phase so all previous powers stop working)
Shooting (No Power) Can fire at full BS as relentless was in effect when he moved
Assault (No Power)
 

·
Herald of The Warp
Joined
·
2,752 Posts
I would say no, as the ability affects the shooting of the model, not the movement.

His ability to move is unchanged regardless of him having relentless or not; It's his shooting ability that is being changed. As such, if the ability is gone by his shooting phase, he's back to his regular situation and can only snapfire.

The only rules that would persist the way you describe it, is if it changes the units movement capabilities (move through cover, etc).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
12,830 Posts
You move, then you have Psychic powers cast and take effect, then you shoot.

You cannot shoot with Heavy Weapons if you have moved, unless you have the relentless special rule. In the shooting phase immediately after casting Endurance, you have the relentless special rule.

In the following turn, relentless doesn't take effect, because it ends during the Psychic phase.

Relentless is only of import during the shooting phase.



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top