Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When a casket uses its magic and one of your enemy's unit got MR, can he use it to prevent the spell? I thought the magic was cast on the Casket itself (so no MR could be used, only scrolls or normal dispel dices), and then affected every unit who had LOS on it.

Thx for the info!

Poltron
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,648 Posts
MR can effectively dispel the power of the Casket.

If an army has a unit with MR2, then that army could use those 2 dice supplied by the unit's MR to dispel the Casket's power, provided that the unit could 'see' the Casket following normal LOS restrictions.

If successfully dispelled in this manner, the Casket will cease to work on any unit that turn, not only the unit with MR.


Keep in mind that the Casket acts much like a normal bound spell, just with a variable power level. Magic Resistance acts just like having extra dispel dice, but only when that particular unit is threatened by magic. The extra 'dispel dice' generated by the MR will work just as well as normal dispel dice for canceling out bound or cast spells.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
386 Posts
MR only applies if the spell is targeted directly at the MR unit. if it affects an area, in this case the whole board, that happens to include a unit with MR the unit is still affected and MR does not apply.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
630 Posts
CoS was a specific exception iirc because it doesn't specify a target (AOE spells with a definable radius i.e. not all are still subject to MR). In addition, the CoS was rendered completely useless by the inclusion of a single unit with MR whilst other AOE spells can change targets.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top