Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I posted a similar thread over on Dakka, but it kind of...devolved, and I wanted to get some fresh perspectives.

I'm fairly new to 40K, though I have a little experience playing with Vanilla Space Marines. I've discovered that I really like an aggressive, close assault army profile. I'm not a Win-At-All-Costs kind of guy; I'd say I'm 60% hobby-oriented, 40% gameplay-oriented.

I just can't pick between Blood Angels and Space Wolves. I like Space Wolf fluff marginally better, but BA fluff would allow me to do a DIY chapter and largely ignore most of what I don't like about them.

I like everything about the BA army list except for the HQ units. I don't do Counts-As special characters, and one of my self-imposed rules is that I've got to run a Captain/Chapter Master in a list. BA Captains are terrible. Everything else? Great. Jump packers are probably among my favorite models.

I like a lot of the SW army list, except for Thunderwolf Cavalry. I love their statline, don't get me wrong, but SMs riding wolves into battle strikes me as one of the stupidest things I've come across in 40K. Unfortunately, TWC are, in my opinion, the best assault troops in their codex. However, they have great troops and absolutely perfect vanilla HQ options for my illogical Herohammer side.

I've made this decision about twenty times over the past couple weeks, and always end up reversing it, and then reversing it again, and again...etc. Just can't pick.

·
Angryman
4,304 Posts
Sounds like the answer is as follows. D6. Sw on a 4+

My suggestion though. Use Space wolves and use converted chaos juggernoughts as thunderwolf cavalry. Plastic robot wolf models. Win Win.

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
I say SW too also you could run a 13th company, also their entire army revolves around cc so honestly TWC is not needed

BA are just twilight fanbois with nipples -_-

·
Registered