Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,588 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My friends were battling with out me :( and the above question came up

and I cant find it anywhere in the rule bookso anyone know?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
NO. I dont have the rulebook on me to give you a page quote, but i know this is true. Even if its a "counts as shooting" power.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Now that, I'm not too sure about. On pg. 52, where the rules for psychic powers are in the main rulebook, it says that they're subject to "the usual rules for shooting." Since the shooting ones are all assault weapons, I'd assume you could use it as you fell back. On pg. 48 where the Fall Back! rules are, it just says "Troops who are falling back may continue to shoot, but are obviously moving."

There's nothing that says that they can't use psychic powers while they fall back that I've found in the main rulebook. I'd assume you could do it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,588 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
my thinking is the psycher is to busy thinking "must run away" to be able to cast a power so I don't think they could but it doesn't say anything in the rule book.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
966 Posts
Can't find anything in the book to say you can't provided it confers to the usual rules. i.e instead of shooting.

Remeber kids you can flee backwards, then fleet back towards the enemy!

Or DS and then fleet, and many more besides.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I believe if someone really pushes this, they can use the power. The rule book backs them up. Even though common sense says they can't, I would say the rules back them up
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
The rules are clear. If you can shoot, you can use a psychic power that counts as shooting. Likewise, nothing about falling back or psychic powers sais even non-shooting powers can;t be used while falling back.

Read the rules for falling back, it;s a "Fighting retreat" it's not an "Oh god, I want my mommy!" running for the hills while peeing one's pants.

Consider it a strategic withdrawl. I see no reason that if an average guardsman can remain clam and composed enough to fire off controlled bursts to cover his retreat, the iron will of a librarian or psycher couldn't reap psychic vengance as he falls back to safer ground
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
i think i was thinking of pinning.

Anyway skcuzz i think the nid faq or the gt faq covered the fleeting thing and said you have to fleet in th esame direction as you fled.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
Galahad said:
The rules are clear. If you can shoot, you can use a psychic power that counts as shooting. Likewise, nothing about falling back or psychic powers sais even non-shooting powers can;t be used while falling back.
Period.

As far as im concerned. :D
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
801 Posts
It really seems clear that it's perfectly sensible for the psyker to use his best weapon while falling back; after all, especially with, say, Space Marines, it's like advancing but backwards. These are Leadership tests, not Break tests. You're saying, "We need cover against that support unit, or we'll lose more men", or something of the like, rather than the drop weapons and run style.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
"Remeber kids you can flee backwards, then fleet back towards the enemy! "

Ummm, no, you can't That one has been covered in the Main Rulebook erratea/FAQ. You can fleet, but it must be in the direction you are fleeing.

Don "MONDO"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
ok. here it is. As long as it isnt a power that hapens in the shooting phase you can use it and fleet. If it does its one or the other as both take the place of normal shooting rules.

thats my 5cents for the day.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
630 Posts
Remeber kids you can flee backwards, then fleet back towards the enemy!

Or DS and then fleet, and many more besides.
Now thats not very responsible for a mod now Is It?
:wink:
P.S No to the above and yes to the pychic power question.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
WFB has Fleeing, 40K has Falling Back. They represent different things. As Galahad states, in 40K you are not running away, mearly making a fighting or a tactical withdrawal. This doesn't prevent you from firing, using pyschic powers or fighting an assault should you be charged (and pass your Ld test). In WFB, a fleeing unit is more vulnerable and disorganised and cannot do much except keep fleeing or rally.
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top