Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,137 Posts
Yes.

The .pdf Codices do not supersede or replace the dead tree versions. Says so right on the website.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
There is only one "allies info" rule. 0-1 HQ, Elite, Fast Attack, Troops. No Heavy Support. The rest is all in the .pdf. IG and all kinds of SM can take any of the units in the Codex Daemonhunters that fit the description. Note that dedicated transports and wargear use the listed cost in the Codex Daemonhunters, not your own codex.
 

·
Jeep's and Harley's
Joined
·
1,997 Posts
OK ... I do not have the dead tree codex but I did DL the pdf ... I could find no info about allies in BA or SM codex. I have to assume that the allies info is in the DH codex (dead tree version) as everyone has said that is is absent in the pdf version. If you have the actual codex that you had to pay for and it has this rule then... you can use allies. If you are using the pdf version ... no allies for you.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
252 Posts
The alliesrules are really simple if you are going to be adding =I= forces to an existing SM army:

0-1 HQ
0-1 Elites
0-2 Troop
0-1 Fast Attack

You must already have the minimum choices from the parent codex (1 HQ & 2 Troop, assuming standard missions from the BRB)

Inducting SM/IG troops into an Inquisition force, however, is much more difficult (especially IG, since many of the units you used to be able to take no longer exist) - that really does require the dead tree version of the rules.

As an aside, GW said that the paper book is still perfectly valid, but they also say that you MUST use the PDF versions (without inducted units) of the =I= codices for Throne of Skulls.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Space Marines can never take Grey Knights as allies, or vice versa. Inquisitors can ally with space marines, but Grey knights can only ally with Imperial Guard.
 

·
blahblahblahblah
Joined
·
6,663 Posts
Space Marines can never take Grey Knights as allies, or vice versa. Inquisitors can ally with space marines, but Grey knights can only ally with Imperial Guard.
grey knights can't take marines as allies, marines can however take knights as allies
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
172 Posts
What codex has the lines of rules for allies? I could not find it in any codex that I have. Or is it in the BRB?
As stated earlier in the thread, the rules for allies are in the paper version (dead tree version) of the demon hunters codex. GW removed those rules from the downloadable version on their site.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,021 Posts
As an aside, GW said that the paper book is still perfectly valid, but they also say that you MUST use the PDF versions (without inducted units) of the =I= codices for Throne of Skulls.
im so glad im not entering any GW tournys then, where i cant use my paid for codex. talk about conradicting your own ruleings GW
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Odd that, given that the GW guys running the US GT circuit, ie the tourneys eligible for Vegas golden tickets, said that the pdf did not supercede the printed codex. And said this before the statement was posted online. So I guess it depends on what tourneys you're going to................
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top