Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Ex Mod.
Joined
·
4,245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, looking through the new empire army book the other night and come to warrior priests. i like the look of the priests but i dont know with much clarity how the bound spells work. i looked it up the the rulebook but it isnt very clear. i know you dont need to roll to cast but how does it work when dispelling them?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,588 Posts
A warrior priests prayer is bound LVL 3 so it is auto cast on a 3 which means the opponent needs to role a 3 or more on how many dice they want.

E.G.

Warrior priest Vs chaos champion

Warrior priest casts hand of sigmar auto cast in a 3

Chaos champion chooses to use 2 dispel dice, and rolls a 5 in total (adding the 2 dice together) therefore dispelling the spell.

Hope this helps.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,512 Posts
but they dont use power dice up, so they make your enemy use up dispel dice, leaving you freer to use bigger spells.

if the enemy leaves them, then a nice little spell has come off.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
They are a tactical addition to your army, allowing you to buff your dominance of the magic phase. Use it early on....does he really want something else to come off. or leave them till the end when your opp isn't expecting it.....and bam
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,092 Posts
or leave them till the end when your opp isn't expecting it.....and bam
This is a great tacic i like to use, especially if you play using actual pools of segregated magic dice like I do. More often than not, your opponant will forget about your bound spell at least once a game, think phew, ive survived, as they see your dice pool empty. Then, to quote jigplums BAM!

Whats even better is they can help to draw out dispell scrolls early on too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
428 Posts
Panda is right about using minor spells to get your oponent to burn his dispel dice then hit em with something big or a bound spell. Usually this only works once or twice after the first time though. The high elf player I play against will try to throw that damn comet of casandra from 2 or 3 mages to get me to burn my stuntie's dispel dice then use a vaul's unmasking bound spell to fry one of my rune items. The wood elf player I fight tries the same with Tree singing bound spells before trying to hit me with whatever big spell he has taken.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
428 Posts
Pandawithissues... Heh, tree singing. That spell is awesome

Yeah, for eating up my dispel die. After they are all gone there is a regiment of stunties thinking to themselves, "I didn't drink that much to not have noticed this forest before." It is an evil little spell of nastiness!!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,092 Posts
If you are the wood elf player, can you use it to move your troops around the board if they are within the wood? If so, its really really great! In addition, you can use it for all the normal stuff like providing cover, blocking LOS, and moving woods into range for the offensive spells to work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
428 Posts
Yeah my friend uses it to move his dryads D3 inches for free basically which works great for him. The only downfall is for the unit to move it must be completely within the wood.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,092 Posts
Thats...not really much of a downfall.
Man tree singing is the bomb. I might take it up as a hobby. Sweeeet. Dwarfs are my main fantasy army, but wood elves have long been my favourite.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Just wondering, we had a big debate one time on this one: A warrior priest can cast 2 prayers per turn, which are bound spells, and some of them stays in play when casted.

Can a priest cast 1 succesfull stay in play spell, then cast another and also keep the first?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
no unfortunately he can't do two remains in play. AT least thats the way my friend read it and he uses empire and is the kinda guy who if he felt there was a loop hole wwould be skipping a merry little dance through it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts
Ok that's what I first thought, but then the issue was that a bound spell wasnt really cast from the priest (in reference to a bound spell on a magic item), so it remains in play by itself and he can then cast another one and then we had 2 spells to dispel lol.

Ill try to convince my Empire friend of this thought :)

Thx!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
67 Posts
Only one bound spell can be active at any one time per character using it. Sad but true.

So a warrior priest can use one of his instant bound spells and then a bound spell, but cannot keep two bound spells on the go.

And Arch lectors get three uses a turn...which suggets to me slamming them into an emeny army, using soulfire twice and then giving the priest a 5+ ward save. Thats a nice combo...hmm...I might get me an empire fanatic army.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Thats...not really much of a downfall.
Man tree singing is the bomb. I might take it up as a hobby. Sweeeet. Dwarfs are my main fantasy army, but wood elves have long been my favourite.
The most awesomest spell EVER is Green fire. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Evil and Nastyness.:mrgreen: :biggrin::biggrin::taunt::laugh::mrgreen::p:good::taunt::laugh:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
27 Posts
Only one bound spell can be active at any one time per character using it. Sad but true.

So a warrior priest can use one of his instant bound spells and then a bound spell, but cannot keep two bound spells on the go.

And Arch lectors get three uses a turn...which suggets to me slamming them into an emeny army, using soulfire twice and then giving the priest a 5+ ward save. Thats a nice combo...hmm...I might get me an empire fanatic army.
That's Nothing. HORRORS are so much more killy.
 
1 - 19 of 19 Posts
Top