Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
HI all,

I'm new to 40k and have just finished my introduction post and figured I'd head over here and start my WIP thread to get some of you guys opinions.

So far I have Ive got the basis for my CSM army started. I'm going with a Black Legion paint theme, although I'm considering creating some of my own fluff and naming this army the Son's of Heresy(whatcha think?). Right now this is what I have on my bench:

1. Battleforce
2. Plastic DP
3. Chaos Lord w/ powerfist
4. Huron Blackheart

Here is what I've got painted so far. Comments and criticism will be greatly appreciated!

Edit: Ok guys this is an example of what NOT to do. This was my fist mini I ever painted. I'm sure you can notice how thick the paint looks. I used a gloss
finish on this guy and it came out absolutely horrible. So the lesson to be learned here is, use gloss sparingly.

So here is my second mini. Only glossed his shoulders and helm. I like this look better but I attempted to use a gray highlight around the shoulders and I don't really like the way it came out. I've seen this technique used before and I really like the results but I couldn't reproduce it so I think I'm just going to use the gloss for natural highlights for the time being.

Here is some more of my marines and my Lord in different stages of completion.

Next update I will include some more marines with the steps I took to paint them once I have found a solid technique and I will be starting my Zerks!

Comments and advice are welcome!!

·
Registered
592 Posts
The paint looks a little thick. You should try watering it down for a vastly improved result! :)

I am always pleased to see a fellow Legionaire among the heretics! I approve! :D