Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there are Beastmen in 40k (based on Lexicanum and other sources), but are these the same Beastmen from the Warhammer universe? I ask because I'd like to feature them in some Homebrew fluff, but I don't see the blood thirsty furry guys with lasguns... They just don't fit the profile of the shooty type :/

·
Registered
1,075 Posts
Eh, good question. I think they've more or less been covered by the very specific and not at all ambiguous label of "the mutant" in 40k, so you could have some cult of "beastmen" mutants shooting lasguns.

I'm no lore expert, though :unsure:.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Eh, I think I'll just go the Orky route and make them feral. Give the SM recruits something to scratch at :eek:k:

·
Angryman
4,304 Posts
In the ancient fluff the beastmen were available to the imperial guard. The even came inas standard in the epic scale IG boxed set. In later editions they have been moved over to chaos and are no longer accepted by the imperium(see comment above re-mutants) However i guess there can be good and bad mutants so i see no reason why you cannot use them in your fluff.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I was planning on them to be evil like in WFB, they would be on my SM Chapters homeworld. Like the trolls on Fenris or the scorpions on Baal. The article on lexicanum caught my eye and the question came up, thanks everyone :)

P.S. Beastmen wouldn't be fun with lasguns any way. GOATS FOR THE... Goat God?

·
Registered
216 Posts
As I understand it, there are two general groups of beastmen - the bestial mutated followers of Chaos, and abhumans whose features have taken on a somewhat bestial appearance (but who don't have actual goat heads) having evolved or been mutated by natural, rather than Chaotic, processes.