Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok So I have just started my chaos space marines army THE FALLEN TEMPLARS. They are a black templars battle force that has fallen from the light of the emperor. one problem though I can not think of a back story seeing as how I lack the knowledge of the black templars in general and I am not very good at writing fiction based stories.

What I am asking in short is, I need information and Ideas that would cause a battleforce of uberzealous soldiers to go renegade.

·
Registered
182 Posts
The Templars, are a crusade force by nature. So I suggest, thinking of lost in the warp, or trapped in a system by a warp storm. Then as per "Lord of the Flies" your marines will have lost their way.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Ah, good novel. I back that suggestion, a company lost on crusade sounds very beliveable. Perhaps use a planet you make up, or I guess you could use an existing one, and have your characters in it, etc etc.

·
Registered
3,615 Posts
The idea that some Templars could become renegade is quite a good one, as they're usually seen as ultra-loyal, the true continuer of the Imperial Legions. Are you using a Templars list for this, or a Chaos list?

They way they're organised - basically, a bunch of them go of to fight somewhere and they effectively become an independent crusading warband - could easily lead to stranded, isolated or marooned Templars going off the rails I reckon, especially as they build fortress-monasteries on planets they visit and then may not be back for decades, if at all (the 'parent' crusade may be completely wiped out, the planet may be subject to warp-storms for long periods, anything might happen really...)