Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
hey everyone,

i'm brand new to the entire 40k universe and i have a question to ask. i'll point out that i've never played the tabletop game or the video games.

about three months ago a buddy of mine recommended i pick up horus rising. i proceeded to inhale every book. two weeks ago i finished nemesis. obviously i'm hooked on the horus heresy.

here is my dilemma. while i wait for the first heretic to be released, i want to read other 40k novels. following my friends advice, i read the eisenhorn trilogy. in doing so, i noticed the reference to the golden throne. so i googled it and "bam" i read a major spoiler for the end of the horus heresy series. the same thing happened when i skimmed the back cover of the blood angels omnibus which mentions "the reincarnation of sanguinius". now i more or less know the fate of the emperor and one of the primarchs.

so now i'm trying to figure out what i can read that will not spoil the rest of the horus heresy series for me. i'm currently reading the ciaphas cain omnibus. the ravenor omnibus is probably my next choice. i guess i'm looking for advice on books to avoid horus heresy spoilers. or should i embrace the spoilers since the horus heresy series appears to have a long ways to go?

·
Bane of Empires
5,131 Posts
Embrace the spoilers.

If you were a 40k fan prior to the HH series then you would know what happens at the end of the Heresy and in the following 10,000 years. I actually think the HH series is written with this in mind, for example - the opening line of Horus Rising:

'I was there, the day Horus slew the Emperor...' (now of course it isn't actually referring to 'the' Emperor, but the reference is there and was a fantastic way to kickstart the entire series).