Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Basically, I have an idea for a long-term project. To paint up an individual Space Marine for each chapter, along with Chaos counter parts (obviously not every single one in existence). Although I do plan on having a few deviations thrown in the mix of what will mainly be tactical marines. Such as maybe a White Scars biker or an Iron Hands Techmarine.

All to be displayed in a wall mounted cabinet of some sort.

I came in to this hobby for the tabletop game, but with an amount of limitations presented of which many are out of my immediate control, I think that my attention would be best served in a passive regards towards the crafting aspect.

As it will most likely be a bit before things get kicking, I would like some advice. Anything would be helpful. And keep in mind I plan to include Chaos Marines, too, which I have little experience in as far as background/lore. I will research this myself, but I am thorough and open to outside opinions/suggestions. Especially as to which unit to best represent any given chapter/legion/warband.

·
Registered
1,118 Posts
Sounds cool, who are you going to start with?

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Unsure. Might start off with some basics. Maybe an Ultrasmurf just to get...them...out of the way. Regardless of who I start with, (though I doubt I won't start there), I figure it will be easy to paint marines with similar paints involved at a time.

(Examples using the codex): If I start with an Ultramarine first, I'll then follow up with an Eagle Warrior, a Novamarine, Dark Hunter and whoever else turns up in my search. I want to include the legions too, so I might throw in an Ultramarine legionnaire using more antiquated armor to boot. I'll try to throw in some conversion work when possible to make sure everything looks pretty.