Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I looked around didn't see anything on this and pardon the noob question, I'm just getting into 40k starting a tyranid army, I picked up a battle force with 40 termagaunts, if I equip them with devourers, which have assault 3, does that mean a fulll unit of 30 termagaunts with devourers, has 90 attacks? the rules as I read them make it seem that way, but I wanted to make sure

·
Registered
199 Posts
I looked around didn't see anything on this and pardon the noob question, I'm just getting into 40k starting a tyranid army, I picked up a battle force with 40 termagaunts, if I equip them with devourers, which have assault 3, does that mean a fulll unit of 30 termagaunts with devourers, has 90 attacks? the rules as I read them make it seem that way, but I wanted to make sure
Yes, in the shooting phase each termagaunt has three shots with devourer. So a unit of 30 has 90 shooting attacks.

In assault phase however each termagaunt will attack with their assault weapon. Since they do not have one - it is their basic strength and basic attacks. (unless +1 for charging)

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
'Assault 3' has nothing to do with the assault phase. it is an 'Assault' class of ranged weapon, which means that you can fire it 3 times, and still assault that turn. A 'Heavy 3', for instance, means that you fire 3 times only if you don't move, because it's a heavy weapon (unless the unit gets around Heavy for some reason).

Basically, any weapon that has a range has nothing to do with Close Combat.

·
Rattlehead
6,741 Posts
Termagants with Devourers shoot three times, but only attack in close combat once. Your gun pretty much never affects your close combat attacks unless it's a Pistol.