Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What happens in an assault?

Sorry, I know this sounds like a really newb question, but I just started actually playing, i've been collecting for a few years, but I only started playing seriously a month or so ago.

I understand how it goes for the attacker, but I'm a little lost when it comes to what the defender does. Does he do the same thing, except not get a bonus for charging? I've read the section on assaulting about 20 times, and I just can't wrap my mind around it. Any help would be appreciated greatly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
359 Posts
Without going into specifics, yes defending models fight in the same manner as attacking models but without the +1 for charging. It would be easier if you had a more specific question, since simply posting a whole swath of rules might be bad for business. If you do need a full break down, I'll pm you with information or e-mail you if you prefer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
804 Posts
Yeah specifics would be nice, because we could go into how the WS chart works, how Initiative works, assualt rules for like the +1 charging, charging into cover, grenades that affect charging, and a few more things
Or if you you need just about the whole assualt phase explaned out, just have someone PM or email you
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry, that was just my main question, [how defenders attack] I guess i didn't phrase it too well. Thanks for the help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
138 Posts
All models in the combat fight (those who are Engaged that is). Each model will get to fight at a particular time according to its Initiative, those with higher Initiatives fighting before those with lower.

Unless they are already dead when it comes to their turn, models then roll to hit, wound and the enemy rolls to save just like with shooting.

Once everyone has fought, work out who won the combat. The losing side then checks to see if they fall back or not.

Page 38 details "Who can fight?". This applies to both sides, not just the side who charged.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks. That's really what I was looking for. Models with higher initiative have a chance to kill models with a lower initiative before the latter even has a chance to strike. That explains so much now! :mrgreen:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
mo they don't nullify it they make the attacker I10. i know this sounds a bit anal but it makes all the difference as both sides would be striking simultaneously, big help if your guard defending from marines for example. but power fists/thunder hammers always strike at I1 regardless of cover or grenades (unless its some sort of special wargear that allows you to strike first/I value)
 

·
Jac "Baneblade" O'Bite
Joined
·
8,082 Posts
Is that just frag grenades that make it count as I10 or is the fancy Elder ones as well, I remember they used to actually make you strike first or has that been nerfed in the current edition?
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top