Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well.. here goes.a friend of mine wants to incorporate an assassin into his blood angels army but to do so he needs an inquisitor. the thing is that he can use only one elite choice from the daemon hunters codex.is there no other way than use an hq inquisitor??
 

·
Grey Knight Converter
Joined
·
2,169 Posts
Nope, want a cool assassin and you aren't WH or DH, you have to take that HQ inquisitor lord.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
The traditionally accepted way of fielding an allied assassin is to take an Inquisitor Lord as an HQ choice and then use an Elites slot for the assassin.

However...technically speaking, you only need *an* inquisitor to field an assassin.

It's cheezy but technically RAW to take, say, a DH inquisitor as an elites choice, and use an other elites choice to buy an assasison from the WH

But that's pretty beardy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yeah i thought of that but can u use more than one different army as an ally?
like choose an inquisitor from the wh codex and an assassin from the dh(both as elites)?
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
It's technically legal, but it's open to debate and will certainly not win you any friends.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,697 Posts
why would you want an assassin anyway anything an assassin can do ten marines can do better
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Not necessarily. Some of the assassins have extremely useful abilities (a squad of ten marines can't force your enemy to redeploy squads) and they all cost less than 10 marines with any amount of weapons or upgrades.

And yes, any imperial army can have an assassin, they just have to have an Inquisitor along for the ride to keep an eye on the assassin. Fortunately inquisitors are cheap and have some useful options
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,210 Posts
are these apocalypse rules or 40k rules can you take a inquisitor and a assassin in a space wolves army ?

all assassins old rules rocked i need to look at new ones
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
pick up Codex Daemonhunters or Codex Witch-hunters, these are for normal 40k games

Unfortunately, Space Wolves and the Inquisition really don't get along. They've been known to shoot at Inquisitorial vessels entering their space. But they are allowed to use inquisitors as allies
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,210 Posts
well what would you expect the space wolves uphold there oath but encourage a little genetic deviancy, and the inquisition comes along who always find something they themselves have done wrong that they spend most of there time saying hail Marys and probing Space Marine chapters rather than fighting, and dropping by uninvited pisses me off imagine how a SW would feel. :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
309 Posts
As it's been said, following the rules you can include units from both DH and WH in a IG or SM army at the same time, taking 0-1 HQ from each, 0-1 Elites from each etc. ... so long as it doesn't take you over the maximum slots you can have for a certain type.

So you could include a DH inquisitor and a WH assassin both as Elites choices, and if you really wanted to, you could even take a IG force with 9 Storm Trooper units (3 Elite, 2 Grenadiers, 2 WH and 2 DH).
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top