Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right i was speaking to my store manager who is also an offical events judge and he went to a briefing a few weekends ago and was told that you cannot see through more than 6" of terrain INCLUDING the one you are in.

Help me to explain to him why this is so Wrong, using rulebook ref's etc.
 

·
Powered by Squig Tea
Joined
·
7,589 Posts
Im a bit confused by your question Jigplums,
what type of terrian?
Woods, buildings etc or is he going on about Cities of Death?

Bring back WYSWIG is what I say and end the confusion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
Probably the bit where it says about seeing 6" into AND out of area terrain IIRC?
Oh and WYSIWYG is rubbish IMO as its mostly down to opinions, penalises creative modelling and causes no end of arguments. Area all the way.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
I think he means cumulativeely adding terrain like fantasy - i.e. a squad in 5" of terrain shooting at another squad 5" into terrain can't because that adds up to 10" of terrain. I've run into this one before and there is absolutely no precedent for it in the rulebook at all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
uberschveinen said:
Models cannot see other models if they are over 6" into terrain. It makes ense, therefore, that models cannot see 6" through terrain at all.
Que? What's that got to do with the question? I agree that you can't see through terrain pieces unless you are one size class bigger, no matter how narrow they are. However
the point is that the manager is saying that you can see 6" into or you can see 6" out of terrain, but you can't do both. This is balls, quite frankly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
jigplums said:
Right i was speaking to my store manager who is also an offical events judge and he went to a briefing a few weekends ago and was told that you cannot see through more than 6" of terrain INCLUDING the one you are in.

Help me to explain to him why this is so Wrong, using rulebook ref's etc.
Geee, I wish we had "official events judge"s here in the US. Anyways, unless they actually FAQ it, he's wrong. The only time you would be limited to a total of 6" is when you are both in the same piece of area terrain. They wouldn't need to qualify that if it was 6" combined. And while I'm not "official", I did run the Baltimore Games Day tourneys for the last three years...................
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
I'll re-phrase and see if it makes sense. What he was saying was that he was briefed recently that

If you are shooting at a model within area terrain, and you are also in area terrain then you you add the distances that you are both from the edge of your terrain pieces together. So for example a unit of eldar rangers is 4" into an area of woods. They want to shoot at some firewarriors however the firewarriors are 3" into some ruins.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
630 Posts
I've always played It 6+6 I'm sure theres no mention of cumalation within the BGB, I'll have a check later on.....
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
LongBeard said:
I've always played It 6+6 I'm sure theres no mention of cumalation within the BGB, I'll have a check later on.....
Agreed, I have never once seen any mention of the distance into terrain being cumulative with the terrain you are in. So long as the model doing the shooting is within 6" of the edge of the terrain it is in, that said model can shoot out of it with no restrictions. If the model he is shooting at is also in terrain but within 6" of the edge as well, it can be hit as normal. Nowhere in the rulebook does it state that this is a cumulative number.
 

·
Powered by Squig Tea
Joined
·
7,589 Posts
If it goes that way in a future FAQ it will make Kroot a much nastier unit.

I have seen people play the cumaltive way, but I always thought it was a crock and agree that it is seperate not cumaltive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
I've only played in one tourney where the organizer used the system you described. It does make shooting a lot harder and assault units a bit more survivable.

Game mechanics, I can't find anything the definitively states they are not cumulative; you just can't shoot through more than 6".

Locally, we don't add up the terrain together; kind of a pain in the a$$.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
You can see out of 6 inches of terrain, and you can see into 6 inches of terrain. 6+6 should be the way it;s done. Does it make sense? Not really, but it;s how the rules work.

Just like how you can see, move and shoot through walls in CoD
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
34 Posts
A lot of the confusion is from the old codex: catachan jungle fighting rules, where you did take the cumulative total.

But, as others have said in the 4th Ed rules there is no basis for it. you can see up to 6" on either side.
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top