Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It states on the dark angels codex that ravenwing Landspeeders purchased with the attack squadron act as independent scoring units. The brb states that no vehicles are scoring. Do my Landspeeders get to score? There isn't much keeping me in the DA codex and not just running regular marines.
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
Long running argument this one... but essentially yes, they are.
This is certainly one to discuss with your opponent before the game- while most people accept that they can score there is a very significant proporsion of players who dont think they do (especially those who've never faced them before)... so agreement before it becomes vital is always better.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
592 Posts
Any ruling ever made has said they are scoring. Codex says they are scoring.

They are scoring :)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
It says they are scoring, if for an entirely different type of (4th edition) scoring. Until GW gets their proverbial head out of their proverbial butts they are.

Frankly Dark Angels need all the help they can get.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,189 Posts
It says they are scoring, if for an entirely different type of (4th edition) scoring. Until GW gets their proverbial head out of their proverbial butts they are.

Frankly Dark Angels need all the help they can get.
not even proverbial, their heads are literally shoved up their arse
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Landspeeders only count as scoring if fielded as part of an attack squadron, as per Sammael's entry. If fielded as part of a Ravenwing Support Squadron then they don't count.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Land Speeder... no
Land Speeder storm can... if it has a troops choice in it...
There's a special rule for Dark Angels, which states their speeders are scoring, when purchased as part of a ravenwing attack squad. Just like there are units in the game which have a special "may not score" rule, speeders have a "count as scoring" rule. As the Codex trumps the BRB, they are the only vehicles in the game that can score on their own. If people argue against it, point them to some of the "may not score" rules in various codecies, and ask them if they shouldn't count either.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
To be fair, the entire mentioning of "separate scoring units" of Speeders was written in reference to 4th edition version of a "scoring unit". Which was a mobile vehicle or a non-fleeing squad above half strength.

Almost EVERYTHING was a "scoring unit" at the start of the game back then. I challenge you, Max, to find a reference to "never scoring" that precedes this edition (2008).

The main clue (besides the date of the codex) is that there is no reference to the Master of the Ravenwing having to be in the army for them to score (making them a Troop). So not only are they vehicles that score (by an amazing act of precognition on Jervis' part) but they are also non-Troops that do as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Land Speeder... no
Land Speeder storm can... if it has a troops choice in it...
Dark Angels don't field Land Speeder Storm. It is not in the Codex, much like Ironclads and Thunderfires. This is why when these units were released there was never a DA painted example in White Dwarf. A little frustrating. Much like HQ have lower WS and BS than they do in Codex:Marines. We do have other advantages like DS Termies onto free homing beacon bikes on Turn 1 - Making our opponents extremely uncomfortable, or fielding an Attack bike with MM as part of a bike squad giving it better chance of causing havoc before being destroyed. Think of it as a bit of a trade off.

If fielding Sammael:

Landspeeder as part of Ravenwing Attack Squad (6 bikes) - Scoring
Landspeeder as part of Ravenwing Support Squad (1-3 Speeders) - Not scoring.

Landspeeders also don't count as having scout or teleport homers.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top