Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,561 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The latest FAQ indicates that you cannot use a magical item when fleeing:

Q: Can a fleeing model dispel spells or use magic items? (p24)
A: No.
- WHFB FAQ v1.2 (29 September 2010)

This got me to thinking, if a unit has a magical banner (or other non-wielded item) that changes their movement characteristic or grants a special rule are they using it, i.e. is it an activate power; if so they would use their normal profile and rules when fleeing but could choose not to use it in other circumstances. Alternatively, if it is always active, i.e. it does not need to be activated in any way, they will get it when fleeing but will always use it even when you might not want them to so do.

I have always seen these items (for instance, not affected by the "requires two hands rule", not boosting spell casting) as conferring the changes without stupidity, fleeing, &c. making a difference. however, it could be read differently.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
I was discussing that this morning with some others. Basically, our read on it is that you can't "Use" and item, not that you can't be affected by it.

As such, all active abilities, anything that says may or can, anything that you can choose to use, will not work, but anything that is constant, like an armour bonus, LD bonus, MR, ect. will work.

So, no Scrolls, Potions, "One use only" items, bound spells, items that say "you can do this" or "you may do that", but everything else is fine.

As an example, the Luck stone (wearer can reroll a single failed armour save) would not work, as the wearer must elect to use it, while the Dawnstone (wearer rerolls all failed armour) would work, as the wearer does not use it, but is affected by it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
I think it only count for Items which can be 'used' as such. Like the Ruby Ring or Ruin. I would think a Dragon Helm probably still gives you the Ward Save even if you are Fleeing.

But there is nothing to really decide this either way, you could say the Dragon Helm ward save is 'using' the helm so you can't do it when fleeing.

Aramoro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
1) "RAW RAW RAW! It ONLY applies to wizards!" You know you're gonna hear it.

2) Does this mean a fleeing wizard no longer has a ward save?

3) Does this mean a fleeing unit with the Banner of Discipline no longer has +1 LD, but CAN use the General's Imposing Presence (assuming he isn't in the unit)?

Thank you,GW, for clarifying the rules for us all. AAAAARRRRRGGGGGHHHHH!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
716 Posts
They clarify it with a simple "No". nuff said. lolz
:clapping:
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top