Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since most things that were Apoc only are now able to be used in normal games with the release of 7th edition I have been thinking of some of the lesser dataslates and the benefits that come with them.

One example off of the top of my head is the "Skyhammer Orbital Strike Force", it begins with 3+ Tac squads in drop pods may take 1 HQ and any other units that may have a dedicated drop pod. The big punch is that they all come in on the first turn, now this is a drop pod assault.

Now to get the Objective Secured special rule all you need is an HQ and 2 troops for the core of your list and all your other units that fall under troops have the rule. Starting at 105pts per squad this can get to be really nasty very quick especially in lower point games.

The real question here is, is it wrong to look at Apoc dataslates for potentially fluffy fun builds, and if so where do we draw the line. I know it's all about what you and your opponent agree on, but there has to be some level where we say "Oh hell no"

What are your thoughts, would you play lists like this in a pick up game, or would you bring a list like this for a pic up game?

Lein
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
This is where you run in to a problem... the same one as Helcults get...
Dataslates are their own independent formation. Only your Primary (what is actually the same as a CAD with your warlord in it) and CADs and Allied detachments get the objective secured rule. Dataslates don't. Equally because you bought them from a Dataslate the unit didn't come from a troops anyway. Same goes for summoned daemons, even if they are horrors, letters, bearers, daemonettes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
mayegelt has it right. also, i'd be very unhappy to face an apocalyptic formation if that formation is getting its apocalypse bonuses. i'm sorry but i'd be bringing CSM Cults of destruction all day long with their nice apocalyptic barrage weapon...many apoc formations have fancy models and units set-up. you can use them as a base for fluffy unbound armies. but to get their bonuses would be against the rules since..well..if you are not playing apoc, you cant use rules from apoc!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Sidenote for any of you who are interested. The new Ork Codex has its own Horde formation. THIS DOES NOT GET OBJECTIVE SECURED! :) it gets its own benefits.

Other sidenote a bit more on topic. Taking Pedro Kantor makes all your makes all your Crimson Fist sternguard have objective secured, even in an unbound army...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,422 Posts
Personally, I'd be fine with people taking apocalypse formations in a game against me. If they are building it up to that many points and telling me in advance, it gives me the opportunity to do likewise.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top