Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, so ive been researching 40k for 5 YEARS and I have YET to make an army. I start researching then I dont have money to buy one...but enough is ENOUGH!

Basically SMs are out of the question! everyone I know pretty much plays them. My main opponents are:

Tau, CSM, and SMs!

So an army that doesnt get "raped" by these armies would be nice!

I like a shooty army and I like to accually have to use my head to win games.
Tyranids look awesome but they are a horde army and I cant drop $500 on an army.
I have pretty much talked myself down to a few armies.

Necrons, Eldar, Dark Eldar, and Chaos Daemons

Necrons dont have a lot of Variety and are about to get a new codex. Also my friend is willing to give me a Orb Lord, 12 Warriors, 3 Scarabs, and the Codex for FREE so thats a BIG plus!

Dark Eldar's Codex is so old and trying to get the models would be a pain. DE are suppose to get a new codex and new models as well...so i think its a little late to start them up..But i hear they are Fast and kill fast if used right.

Eldar are kind of like DE, arnt as outdated and seem fun to play. But I think the only real competive army is a mech army which would probably be very expensive.

Chaos Daemons seem cool, deep strike in which can be good or bad...but the units look amazing!

If anyone can help me make this decision ive been contemplating for FIVE YEARS...id greatly appreciate it!

keep in mind. Tau, CSM, and SMs are my main opponents!

·
Registered
2,736 Posts
im starting deamons and there units are amazing in looks and power the guo has 6 wounds eternal warrior a 4+ invulnerable and feel no pain that is pretty awesome

·
Registered
12 Posts
I wouldn't bother with Dark Eldar until they get their new codex. Their model range is disgusting and the way that the play will probably change quite drastically since they are so out of date.