Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Now this isn't likely to happen, infact I have never seen it happen with any army, but my question is:

If a space marine falls back from combat, but cannot physically fall back, is it then destroyed? As it cannot regroup until the start of the next turn, but it has no where to go, also this isn't sweeping advance so doesn't just stay in combat.

That said I am unsure whether all marines or just vanilla marines have combat tactics so can just stay in combat anyway should this situation arise.

Thoughts?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
I think the last line of the Trapped! rule makes it pretty clear. ATSKNF only affects regrouping and sweeping advance.

BA don't have combat tactics. This would screw me in the event that it came up, but it hasn't yet.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,825 Posts
Trapped is a very rare circumstance indeed. ATSKNF has no provision for a unit being Trapped though. So even Marines can be destroyed this way. But I've never seen any instance where a unit was Trapped from any army. It is exceptionally rare. It must have been common at some point for it to be in the rules though. I thought Combat Tactics was that they could always choose to fail, not choose to fail or pass. So I don't think you can choose to stay in combat, barring Calgar being in the unit. But the none codex Marines(BA, SW and DA) do not have Combat Tactics. And being Trapped is actually more likely to occur with a fall back from being shot than losing assault.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,384 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yeah I know wha you mean about the trapped being rare, but it will still be hilarious when it does eventually happen.

May need to try to force this to occur...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,689 Posts
the only time that i EVER got it to work was when i was running my nids and my "lets F*CK SHIT UP" decked out warriors practically obliterated a tactical squad and the combat was surrounded by swarms of termigants.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
218 Posts
Yes they will be destroyed if they break due to being shot. A nifty way to make this happen is to drop pod two sets of devilgaunts right beside a marine squad then form a circle with the two squads. There is a lot of luck involved but its still hilarious when it happens.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top