Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
The Emperor Protects
5,262 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seeing how this has flooded the British news again got me wondering on the legality of retrialing her. Now I'm no expert on law at the best of times, especially foreign law. From what I understand, Italy doesn't have the double jeopardy law that some countries, including America have, which would stop her from being tried for the same crime twice.

So my question is; Does her case count as double jeopardy in the eyes of American law, and if so, would she be protected to some degree because of it? Potentially stopping any attempt by Italy to extradite her. I can't see the US extraditing her anyway, even if the retrial is successful, but I was just wondering if this would stop it dead anyway.

So yea, anyone with a good knowledge of US law, enlighten me.

·
Banned
7,889 Posts
The key to a case of double jeopardy is that you cannot be retried if a LEGITIMATE aquittal or conviction has been found.

From the first glance of the case this is more about the legitimacy of the original trial/appeal.

·
Registered
0 Posts
By American law she would be protected by double jeopardy. If they would have dismissed with prejudice it would be open to retrial but since she was aquitted (I believe) it is not open to retrial.

Now the matter of extradition is a whole other ball of worms.

·
Banned
7,889 Posts
By American law she would be protected by double jeopardy. If they would have dismissed with prejudice it would be open to retrial but since she was aquitted (I believe) it is not open to retrial.
I think the fly in the ointment is that she was acquitted on appeal ?

·
Banned
7,889 Posts