Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need to know if I'm crazy or not. When I paint my Space Marines I only glue their legs, torso and head to the base and prime from there. I prime the arms, weapons and backpacks as well but paint them all BEFORE I glue them to the body.

Am I doing it all wrong? Should I completely assemble the model, prime then paint? What's the process you take?

·
Registered
4,166 Posts
I assemble and paint. My friend Semi-assembles and paints. Another friend paints in parts. Do what makes your work pleasing to you.

·
Registered
175 Posts
Im a fully assembled painter no need to waste 5 min to paint a covered up chest emblem, multiply those 5 min by 60 figs it does add up.

·
Critique for da CriticGod
3,351 Posts
Nope. You see not alone. That is exactly how I paint space marines and most plastic models. It minimizes the amount of physical contact with the surfaces to be painted, which minimizes the amount if skin oil which might disrupt the paint adhesion. And it also facilitates painting all the hidden and interior details before the model is assembled.

·
Registered
2,266 Posts
I usually fully assemble the model and then paint. Course there are occasions where I'll keep the power packs or jump packs off while painting.

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
I usually leave the head off and paint that separately too, but otherwise I do exactly how you do it!

·
Registered
1,384 Posts
SAme I always sub assemble models as much as possible until it gets to the point where my abilities to paint it may be affected. I find its the best way as it means that the paint will help cover up seems and such where to pieces fit together (like a torso) and it it stays together better as you aren't sticking paint to paint but plastict to plastic, but you are also not sacrificing your painting ability - best of both worlds :)

·
Premium Member
2,512 Posts