Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

AdvancedTemplate weapon question

1017 Views 8 Replies 6 Participants Last post by  Grinnsira
So today in a tournament I was helping my friend when an issue came up. My friend was playing my Eldar army, and he was playing Dark Templar i believe.

The issue occurred with a number of things.

This was how the attack went. My friends unit were all on jetbikes

X=Singing spear models
O=Warlocks with destructor
W=Other Warlocks
H=His troop of marines
D=Venerable dreadnaught
_=blank space


Okay so here were the issues.

O, the warlocks with destructor, have a template weapon (the fire one)

He targeted the Dreadnaught with his unit of warlocks and farseer. The two Singing spears were in range, and the template just fell short of the dreadnaught, but covered the entire group of marines basically (twice because of the two having destructor).

Issue 1. Do the template weapons resolve over the marines, even though the fell short of there designated target

Issue 2. Do the singing spears get to attack still? (range 18", s9 against vehicles, assault 1). These weapons were in range.

Issue 3. With the jet-bike models, where is the template weapon protruded from? In the BRB it says from the base of the model, so would that be from the edge of the hull of the bike, or from the actual "flying" base? And are they measured from the middle, or the edge if it is the "flying" base?

Issue 4. At the same time he attempted to psychic hood my warlocks. Can warlocks be psychic hooded? It says in the Eldar Codex there powers are available permanently, and therefore do not need to make psychic tests to use them.

I was trying to help my friend play his first game, and got massively rules clumped from a single attack, so next time it happens i would like to be able to help more. All help is appreciated, thank you.

That's all i can think of that happened for now, but i may post more regarding this attack later.
See less See more
1 - 2 of 9 Posts
With much discussion, a few phone calls, and a few rolls of the dice we have one question. Did the dreadnaught have a base? A lot of people do not place the dreads on a base so it affects the ability to be in range. Besides that question it came down to this; in the spirit of the game yes the troops would have been hit with the flamer template weapons even if the dread was not in range. The flamer fuel, psychic energy wave, or green sludgy slime does not come out, say “oops! We cannot hit the target. Go back, go back, or watch out, weave around those troops and don’t hit them now that we missed the dread”. It goes somewhere (like down because of gravity). When shooting at the dread you are aiming for it so would be aiming over the head of the troops. If you are out of range its effective range so the rounds fly wide of the target, have lose the required power to penetrate, or have self destructed.
In playing this guy I would talk it over with him, if he pushed the issue I would let it go but drop him in the dirt on sportsmanship and fun to play with marks. It was a great strategic set up and the marine player made a mistake and hid behind the rules to recover. Sorry excuse for a player.
See less See more
I read the rules on template weapons and it says that you place the template so that it covers the maximum troops or majority of the vehicle. It then says that anything covered or partly covered is automatically hit by the template weapon. Since this is a special weapon it does not follow the normal rules to hit. So as long as the template is placed so as to cover as much of the target as possible, even if it falls short it still automatically hits anything that is covered or partly covered by the template. That means all of the troops under the template.
1 - 2 of 9 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.