Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
My question is about taking a wound on the event of a 1 rolled from Abaddon's +D6 attack Daemon Sword.

A straight reading of the text would make you assume that YES, he would take the wound. However, I can't seem to get this line of reasoning out of my head:

In the old Chaos Codex you had to make a mastery check whenever a Deamon Weapon killed something. Abaddon's entry in that codex listed him as having the Daemon Sword Drach'nyen, and said nothing about him being immune to the mastery rule. However, within the Chaos FAQ released by GW (http://us.games-workshop.com/errata/assets/csm_faq_v4-0.pdf) it states that Abaddon has complete mastery over the sword and therefore does not have to take the mastery roll.

In the new codex, Abaddon still has the Daemon Sword Drach'nyen, and it still says nothing about him being immune, even if the "mastery" roll is done slightly different. There isn't yet a new FAQ to clarify the ruling for us, but I can't shake the feeling that Abaddon, being "the archfiend whose name as become a ten-fold curse" is still going to be immune to the new mastery rule. But I could be wrong.

Anyway, your ideas on the matter will be appreciated greatly! And hello all, as this is my first post. :grin:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
598 Posts
hmm, im not sure about that...
yeah, i double checked the chaos codex (my bro) and no real specific entry.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Abaddon is NOT immune, barring Games Workshop FAQ-ing that. If you recall, the other special characters in the old codex were immune to the effects of mastery. However, that's not the case in the new codex-- it's no different than if one of them had a plasma pistol and rolled a 1-- they follow the basic rules for the weapon unless otherwise specified.

More practically, it's a balance, since Abaddon can throw a ton of S8 lightning claw attacks. On a 1, he's not attacking, which makes up for the dozens of absolutely deadly attacks he'll throw the rest of the time.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Yeah, that's like complaining that Mephiston doesn't have an invul save. ;-) They're badass enough as is.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Welcome to Heresy mb.

Abbadon is not immune to the effects of rolling a 1 for his attacks at all. If he does so, he may not attack that turn and must take an Invulnerable save only to avoid being wounded as well.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top