Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So Sanctuary is a blessing that targets the psyker. In addition to giving him +1 to his invulnerable save it makes daemons treat open ground as dangerous terrain. This is the part I have a question about.

So here's whats in the rules (that i found):
-A blessing is cast in the psychic phase (duh) and last until the next friendly psychic phase. (pg 26)
-Models that enter, leave, or move through dangerous terrain must take a dangerous terrain test. (pg108)
-However "Once a model has taken a dangerous terrain test for a particular scenery model it does not test for that terrain again. (pg 108)

So here's the question/ scenario: (please tell me you cant do this)
1) A GK stormraven casts Sanctuary and moves across the table forcing every daemon with in a 12" radius to take 1 dangerous terrain test for entering and 1 for leaving the bubble.
2) A GK Vehicle or any psyker moves up to a daemon model and repeatedly moves its self in and out of range forcing repeated dangerous terrain checks. If this is a single model and not a unit these movement could be infinitesimally small forcing a lot of checks. The worst part is that this can be done in both the movement phase and the shooting phase.

So I am really hoping I missed something here. I play GK's and i cringe at the thought of this (although it would be funny to see the look on the guys face when he brings a heavy daemon summoning list).

-Nipolian
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
You only take a Dangerous Terrain test while moving through it - therefore, I would argue that Daemons take a Dangerous Terrain test for every bubble of Sanctuary they move through, but simply being within Sanctuary does not cause a Dangerous Terrain test.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm not so sure. The rules say "each model must take a Dangerous Terrain test as soon as it enters, leaves or moves within dangerous terrain." (pg 108)

This makes it seem to me like regardless of whether the model "actually moves" it takes the test as soon as it enters or leaves the bubble.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
You only make Terrain tests in your own turn, otherwise you could literally make them do near unlimited tests by saying you are moving 100000000000000000000000000 of a inch to make them in then out of the DT test range as part of your movement.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top