Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
greetings chaps, just a query on the donkey cannon rending rules in regards to "instant death"? on the weekend i managed to pop off a couple of rounds into a mates farseer, feeling quite confident of killing said xeno with two sixes rolled , he promptly told me that "once the dice were rolled sixes, and rended, the assault cannon is no longer strength six" as you can imagine there was quite a bit of arguing (as my whole battle plan revolved around killing this farseer). and after all that yelling and looking at the rule book and on line it still remains unresolved, sooo does it indeed lose its strength 6?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
801 Posts
That could well be one of the most blatant attempts at ego-salvaging I've ever seen, if it's entirely the way you put it.

Tell him he's stupid. Also wrong.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Yeah... I guess I can see the logic in the argument, but that's definitely not the intention of the rules. It's definitely S6-- with rending, the idea is that the roll to wound is irrelivant, that you would succeed to wound regardless of what you actually roll.

Incidentally, your opponent shouldn't be running an independent character around by himself anyway. Only stupid people let characters get themselves shot by themselves. It's one thing when the command squad gets pasted, and quite another when you're dumb enough to have him running around by himself with no friendly targets of the same size to protect him.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
801 Posts
No, he wasn't cheating for the objective of pure victory. I can see what the guy did. He's obviously gone all 'Hey, watch this' with his SUPAR DUPAR ORESUM DOOD, gotten fifty CCs of reality to the face, and in a desperate attempt to repair his shattered ego has fallen upon the first thing he thought of.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
Did you [email protected] slap him? That is a blatant out right lie. It is and will remain to be a Strength 6 weapon. Ask him to tell you where the rules remove the strength. If he cannot show you, tell him to piss off.
 
Joined
·
29 Posts
i mean all it says is that it automatically wounds with no armor save. it doesnt just say deals one wound. it just tells you to skip a couple steps. although he would get an inv. but if he failed one (likely) hes just space elf goop on the wall.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
ha ha ha, whilst most of all you said was true ( nah .. all of it) the rules (pg 32&46, though some slight deviation in wording for each)state ""any roll to hit of 6 with a rending weapon automatically causes a wound with no armour saving throw possible", the crux of his argument bieng that nowhere in the rules does it state what happens to the strength ie "on a 6 takes an automatic strength six wound no saves allowed", so in his mind the strength value became used bypassing the wearers armour (though obviously not stated thus) , examples of his argument ranged from "why do rail guns automatically penetrate rhino's and can fail to wound a guardsman on a 1",to " it doesn't say it removes the strength, but doesnt say it keeps it either", he did give me the option of "keeping it strength 6, but i would have to roll to wound". anyhoo thanx fellas i will tell him the consensus, though i doubt it will change anything. "the alien fails because it cannot embrace the emperor, ave emperitor lux"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,717 Posts
Anybody reading between the lines to that extent should be melted down into pure energy and used to power whinge-forums like the dakka dakka rules as written(RAW) board.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
359 Posts
If one were to agree with that argument then one could argue anything that's not in the rules and make it stick. Honestly this is the single worst attempt to bend the rules I've ever seen. Next time he says that respond with "Well, no where in the rules does it state that I can't punch you in the face three times and win by default."
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Warboss Dakka said:
"Well, no where in the rules does it state that I can't punch you in the face three times and win by default."
That's on page six of "How to be a Giant Douche," for the playing of any game whatsoever. :eek:
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
677 Posts
Hmm. I thought that was Page 1 of..
"The Art of Destroying Fanboys and You."

If the person I played pulled that, they better realize I'm using it as I see it or cease playing me. If they won't stop and keep whining, then maybe I'll go to page 3, as stated above. They always say you can't win a battle of wits unarmed, but a one-sided battle of you smoting the other player out of game is pretty efficient. I know more than one of us have resorted to giving a beardy friend a crack or two out of spite for their obvious cheating or attempt to bend the rules to crazy shapes and sizes.

-Khaine-
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
17 Posts
Saying its not str. six is like saying a weapon has only 2d6 penetration, but no strength O_O.

I say he just didn't like to die... that fast.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
630 Posts
After seeing the new DA codex It would seem that GW may look to Increase points cost on the ass-cannon:
1) Tornado's now cost 20pts more than the Std SM codex
2) Termies don't have the option to take twin ass-cannons
Could be the sign of things to come If the Infamous Codex SM 'Redux' makes an appearance?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
YIPEEE :)

Must admit that i think there are good reasons for those changes. IF anything the DA should get the tornado cheaper as it started off as a DA only configeration. If tornados were 100pts then the good old multimelta Hvy flamer combo would likely see some more table time. With Rhino's made cheaper and drop pods more expensive i think it would be great for balancing the list out more. Plus a pts shake up for the Libby powers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
954 Posts
Well first of all i want to say that i agree! The ass cannon is strength 6 when it renders! ( just so i don't get my head bitten off for the next bit)

Lets look at it the other way around, The Elder player could be forgiven for thinking that the rendering part has no strength against infantry because a daemonette is strength 4 and so cannot hurt a wraithlord unless it hits on the roll of a 6!

Ergo! If it was still strength 4, even rolling a 6 to hit would mean that it cannot hurt a wraithlords toughness of 8!

However saying that, IMO both things are correct! Meaning it wounds at its normal strength even if its normal strength is not enough to normally hurt the target!

Perhaps this is where the confusion was.

MarzM
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top