Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
If you see an incorrect answer and provide a valid answer with a good offical answer please let me know, if you see an answer that needs to be in another section or a copy provided there also let me know. Positive reputation is always appreciated.

General
Q: What does "Once Per Turn" mean?
A: Unless it says specifically then it means once per player-turn. So if you have a power that is once per turn you can use it on your turn and then on your opponents turn.

Q: Can an allied IC join with a squad of its allies? Like can a Daemon Hunter/ Blood Angels army has a BA Chaplin attached to a Grey Knights squad?
A: As long as the allies are on the same FOC then you can. If you are playing battles were you are using two separate charts for armies you are controlling on your side then no.

Q: How decisive exactly is WYSIWYG?
A: WYSIWYG should have everything on the army list, shown on the model. E.G. you have a model with Melta-Bombs on your army list; they must be on the model. Keep in mind that WYSIWYG does not mean that they have to be specifically on the model but can be included on the base or bike if they are riding one.

Q: With a model that is WYSIWYG does it have to be the GW released model or can something be scratch built as long as it resembles the item in question?
A: As long as you have changed the base item and added details to make it resemble the other item you should be good to go. Keep in mind in a situation like this, to inform you opponent prior to the game so they are not caught off guard. If you are going to a tournament contact the organizer before hand to clarify as well.

Q: Can a Librarian/Chaplain/Commander without a command squad be given the Furious Charge veteran skill and if so how many points would it cost?
A: No, a HQ character can not be given a veteran skill without a command squad.

Q: For a start, just what the heck is the combat squad rule supposed to mean?
A: Certain squads in some Codexes can be split from a full 10 man squad to two 5-man squads known as a combat squad (per the 4th ED Blood Angels codex)

Q: Will we get to double up on special/heavy weapons?
A: No, you build the 10 man squad per the normal rules before the game and prior to the game you split the squad into two 5-man squads deciding which models will go into which squad at that time (per the 4th ED Blood Angels codex).

Q: Will we be stuck with 5 or 10 man squads only, or will we still get to make regular squads?
A: Depending on the codex. Blood Angels can only be fielded in 5 or 10 man squads, and as a 10 man they can then be split into two 5-man squads (per the 4th ED Blood Angels codex).

Q: I heard that they’ll be limited to 1 special in 5-man and only get a heavy option in 10 man squads (per the 4th ED Blood Angels codex).
A: This is true.

Q: Can you take heavy weapons that call for a 10 man squad if you break you the unit down to two 5-man combat squads?
A: Yes you still get a heavy weapon is you break them down to 5-man squads (per the 4th ED Blood Angels codex).

Psychic Powers
Q: Can an Eldar Farseer use fortune on itself or a squad it is with and assault in the same turn?
A: Yes, Fortune is used at the beginning of the turn and doesn't prevent the Farseer from doing anything.

Q: Can a character that is fleeing use a psychic power?
A: They can use psychic that are considered shooting as long as they do not have to be still.

Movement
Q: Can a C.S.M marine lord in terminator armor deep strike if attached to a squad of terminators?
A: He can be held in reserve as he is in terminator armor & if he arrives on the same turn as the terminators then he can deep strike with them. However he has to roll reserves separately.

Q: When deep striking onto Chaos Icons (which work the same as teleport homers, I believe) does the entire unit deep striking has to be within 6" of the icon or just the initial model?
A: Center Unit inside of the legal 6", then wraps the others around the first model.

Shooting
Q: If you roll for difficult terrain and then opt to not move can you fire heavy weapons?
A: No, even though you did not move, you are still considered moving for anything affected such as heavy weapons.

Q: Ok my Friends have basically told me that they can shoot one of my units that are the same height as the unit standing directly in front of the targeted unit. An example would be a squad of 32 Gaunts that is standing in front of a full squad of Genestealers. They choose to target the Genestealers and say that as long as they pass the leadership role that they can target the Genestealers. The squad that they would be using to shoot the Genestealers would be the same height as well. Shouldn’t the line of sight be blocked by the Gaunts?
A: your friend is correct. Refer to page 20 of the BBB for answers regarding Line of Sight.

Q: Does the player shooting roll until he destroys a vehicle or does he roll for all his hits and take the highest?
A: A player must roll all hits on a vehicle per the BBB. Once you roll the highest result on the chart though, any other rolls are redundant since you can only cause a vehicle to blow up once.

Q: My ravager is behind class 3 terrain and definitely out of LOS. My opponent shoots at it with a Hellhound. He tells me he can do this as long as the whole template is within the 24" range. I told him he couldn't do that because he doesn't have LOS and he can't pick my ravager as a target.
A: The hellhound can only fire it's template at targets that are in range and in LOS. The size 3 terrain would block line of site so they would be unable to shoot.

Q: Can you elect not to shoot some of your guns?
A: Yes you can but you must declare this before you being rolling to-hit.

Q: If you fire a rapid fire weapon can you assault?
A: No you can not, regardless of the number of shots unless the model is mounted or in armor that specifically states that you can.

Q: Do skimmer vehicles blocked line of sight? Example, a Howling Banshee Unit disembarking from a Wave Serpent was unprotected against fire from enemies in front of the Wave Serpent.
A: No, a skimmer does not block line of sight.

Q: If you are shooting at a model within area terrain, and you are also in area terrain then you add the distances that you are both from the edge of your terrain pieces together? (Example: a unit of Eldar rangers is 4" into an area of woods. They want to shoot at some Firewarriors however the Firewarriors are 3" into some ruins)
A: The terrain is not cumulative; you can see 6 inches out of the terrain that your unit is in and up to 6 inches into the terrain that the squad is hiding in. Keep in mind that if you are in the same terrain you can only see a max of 6 inches.

Q. Suppose a Defilers battle cannon hits an Eldar skimmer that moved 7 inches but still manages to break through the armor. It says in the BBB that if ordinance beat armor value you roll on that chart....so do you roll ordinance or glancing?
A. Glancing hit if a skimmer moves over 6 inches.

Q: If a model on a bike has a gun, can he shoot his gun and the bikes bolters?
A: A model on a bike can only fire one gun per model. So a normal bike can choose to either shoot his gun or the TL Bolter on the bike while a model on an Attack bike can fire two weapons since there are 2 models on the bike.

Q: With a weapon that causes auto death, do models still get their armor save if the AP value would allow one?
A: Yes, even if a weapon has a high enough strength to auto-kill, if the model would be allowed armor save because of the AP value, they still have a chance to save the wound. Of course if the wound is saved then the model is not affected by the auto-death.

Assault
Q: If I have a model with a base attack of 2 but they are normally equipped with 2 weapons that count as CCW, do I get a bonus attack (for a total of 3) or does the 2 include the CCW?
A: Unless it specifically says that it is included in their profile (normally with named characters) then it is not included. In your example above they would get 3 attack for base of 2 + 1 for two CCW.

Q. Since the basic Chaos Marine troop come with bolter, bolt pistol, and close combat weapon, do you have to pick bolter or bolt pistol and CCW or can you have both?
A. They automatically have all three; you do not have to choose which one your models are equipped with.

Q. Do you still get the +1 attack for having an additional close combat weapon if your model is equipped with a Bolter, BP, and CCW?
A. Yes, you still get the extra attack, but keep in mind if you fired the bolter (not bolt pistol) you will not be able to charge in assault.

Q. Does the Mark of Khorne +1 attack stack with the +1 attack you get from having an additional close combat weapon?
A. Yes, bonus attacks stack with one another, in the situation above you would get +2 attacks up to a max of 10 attacks.

Q: What is furious assault?
A: It is the same as furious charge.

Q: Can terminators armed with Rapid fire weaponry assault after shooting? Example, Chaos Terminators with combi-bolter.
A: On page 36 under the boldface note in the Shooting and Assaulting section. "Some rare units always count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some units can move and fire heavy weapons. Such units can charge after firing." I'd take that to mean Slow and Purposeful models and Terminators, since they count as stationary for pretty much all shooting purposes. This is further clarified in the CSM Codex under the entry for terminator armor.

Q: A unit charges another unit that is in cover. Next turn a different unit charges the unit as well. Does it gain the benefit of being in cover against the second charge?
A: Pg 39 of the rulebook - "models that are in or behind cover normally fight in close combat with an initiative value of 10. This represents the advantage of cover - their improved initiative counts not only for close fighting but for shots against the enemy as they charge in. However the cover does not affect hits or anything else in an assault. After the first round of combat fighting is assumed to have swept into the cover, so no further advantage is gained by models in it."
Models charging in after the first round are joining a combat not beginning a new one and as such strike in initiative order.

Q: If I buy my Veteran Sergeant a CCW and BP do I gain an extra attack during an assault?
A: Under 4th Edition rules for Space Marines you would gain an extra attack. The clause about not gaining an extra attack for CCW and BP on a bike from 3rd edition was removed.

Q: So my question is does a model have to have a CCW? It’s just that I know models in terminator armor can't use them. Also if he was to get into CC what would happen?
A: He would only have his profiles attacks. A CCW is not required to make assault attacks, only to gain a bonus to the number of attacks in the profile.

Q: Do models that come standard with 2 CCW or CCW/Pistol combo get a bonus to their attack listed in their profile? Example: Assault Marines, do they have 2 base attacks (1A +1 for CCW/BP)
A: Yes they do get a bonus attack for having CCW/BP. Bonuses, unless specifically stated, are not included on profiles.

Q: How exactly do power weapons/fists work in combat?
A: You use them as you would any normal attack. It is assumed that a character with the weapons will use them automatically. You can always opt to not use a special weapon and just use it as a normal CCW. A power weapon ignores all normal armor saves, but still allows invul saves. The power fist is like a power weapon that doubles your strength but you also swing at initiative 1.

Vehicles
Q: How many passengers in a transport that is not open-topped can fire from each fire point? Book just says 1 or more.
A: One unless otherwise stated in the codex.

Q: If you get three 6 results on the penetrating chart (vehicle destroyed with explosion) how many times would models with-in six inches get hit by the blast?
A: Only once, a vehicle only blows up once.

Q: If a vehicle with passengers gets hit with a penetrating 6 hit does the models doing a emergency disembarking also get hit with the explosion after they roll for wounds?
A: No as the explosion happens while they are still in the vehicle they are not hit.

Q: Can the Missiles from a Sky Ray be weapon destroyed?
A: Yes they can be destroyed but they count as a separate weapon per missile.

Q: If I have a vehicle with sponsons do I have to pick the same weapon to go into each?
A: Yes the same weapon must go into each side sponson on a vehicle. They come in sets, for some reason you are able to get a weapon with multiple sets of sponsons you may then pick different weapons for each set (remember that a set is mounted 1 per side).

Q: If I purchase a vehicle that is normally a dedicated transport as a slot selection is it now considered a scoring unit?
A: Yes, it would be considered scoring if it is not a dedicated transport.

Infantry
Q: If you have a squad with a single multi-wound character can you assign him 2 wounds and when the next wound comes assign it to one of the single wound models?
A: In a unit of single-wound models that happens to contain one multiple-wound model, the remove whole model rule does not apply, as it does not meet the criteria of having several multiple-wound models.

Q: I have a squad of multi-wound characters with one who has taken a wound previously. It is fired up on but the model that was previously wounded is out of range of the weapon, do I have to remove the model with a wound even though it is out of range or will another model in range take the wound.
A: According to the rules, no matter how many shots you are firing if said shots can only reach the front row of models in your unit, then ONLY those models may be hit. Anything else is wasted shots. If you do 15 hits and then roll 5 total wounds, all those wounds come from the models actually within range. If there are only 3 models within range of the weapon, then all 5 wounds are applied to those 3 models and do not carry over into the rest of the squad. Same thing applies even if the Nob is the only model that is out of range, if such is the case, he cannot hit even, never mind wounded. BRB pg 22, subheading: Check Range.

Q: Can I replace a models weapons (Force Sword for a librarian or Crozius for a chaplain) with two other weapons such as a pair of lightning claws?
A: Yes, but you do not replace the weapon, they are added in addition to the weapons purchased from the armory.

Wargear
Q: I noticed that the entry for Chaos has the normal marines getting three weapons. I didn't think this was possible under the RAW.
A: There is not a limitation on the number of weapons you can carry, only the number of weapons that can be purchased. Unless an entry specifically says replaces then any additional weapons are added to the existing weapons. Keep in mind that you still have to keep with the WYSIWYG rule.

Q: Can anyone tell me if the Sergeant who has been given Terminator Honors from an assault squad can have a Lightning Claw?
A: If you are using the Space Marine codex you would be able to get your Sergeant a Lightning Claw from the Armory. If you are using a chapter specific codex that uses the new style of what you can get and what you can not get then you can only purchase items listed under that units heading.

Q: Can you Master Craft a piece of wargear that is included with the character (Force Sword, Bolter, etc)
A: Yes, there is no restriction on what weapon you can Master Craft, it just has to be a weapon.

Q: Does an assault cannon or any rending weapon lose its strength value when a 6 is rolled?
A: No it retains it strength value even if the weapon rends (a 6 is rolled).

Q: Can a Tech-Priest with a Servo Harness take a jump pack or bike as wargear?
A: Yes, no where in any of the rule books does it state that you can not take either item with a servo harness.

Q: Melta bombs are mentioned in the IG Stormtrooper entry, but no explanation is given. Same for the armory, they are mentioned, but no explanation is given.
A: Check your BGB - in short you hit vehicles in assault as normal e.g. You only get one attack, if it is stationary you hit automatically, moved 6 hit on 4+, moved more than 6 hit on 6+. The melta-bombs are strength 8 and you add 2 dice 6 for armor penetration.

Battles
Q: Can a familiar or other add-on to the model that is considered wargear (servo skull, ammo runts, shield drones, etc) take the wound for the person they are attached too?
A: Yes they can, even though they are wargear they still have a stat line. If they do not have a separate stat line then they would not be able to as they are only on the model for flavor.

Q: In City of Death can a skimmer occupy a building so they can capture it for points?
A: No, per the City of Death codex (page 9) a skimmer can not occupy buildings.

Codex Specific
Chaos
Q: I'm currently working on a chaos army with a 15 member chaos marine squad. Now if I'm using the Night Lords, can I stick a banner of Nurgle on one of my marines?
A: Yes with the new Chaos codex, it does not matter what you call your army for wargear selection, only what options are available to the unit. You can stick a Nurgle Banner in a World Eaters army and you would only violate the fluff.

Q: Do Predators have an option to stop being destroyed?
A: No, they have options that allow them to repair an immobilized or weapon destroyed hit, but if it is destroyed, it stays that way.

Deamon Hunters
Q. If using Grey Knights as an ally can the player (using IG or SM) use an orbital bombardment?
A. No because when using Grey Knights as an ally you can not use a heavy support options from that list which would be required for the bombardment.

Q: Who all has access to the armory? Is it just the acolytes, or can everyone get stuff? If so, then how many points worth of items can they get?
A: Only Acolytes have access to the armory and they follow the rule given in the codex.

Blood Angels
Q: BA does NOT need to physically lose a model from an eligible unit.... in order to field a DC model?
A: No the extra cost of the squads is what is providing the model for the squad. You do not physically have to lose a model from the qualifying squad.

Eldar
Q: If I had an Autarch on a Jetbike attached to a Swooping Hawks unit would I be able to use their Skyleap ability?
A: By rule, the Autarch can use Skyleap as he would be attached to the Hawks unit and the wording of Skyleap includes allowing them to Deep Strike back in. While I'm sure it was meant as a limitation, saying that they may only enter by their already available deep strike ability, the wording is such that (provided the Autarch was attaches before they used Skyleap) he would be allowed to deep strike back in.

However, remember that the Autarch is an HQ unit and rolls separately for availability when it comes to reserves...so there is a chance (admittedly low in later turns) that the Autarch could become available before the hawks, or the Hawks before the Autarch.

He can Skyleap with them, but whether he has wings or not, he *must* be rolled for separately form the rest of the squad to see if he is available to come in from reserves next turn. You roll reserves availability for each FOC choice separately. Hawks are Fast Attack the Autarch is HQ. You make one roll to see if the Autarch is available and one for the hawks. You must deploy on the turn that they become available.

If both the Autarch and the hawks are available on the same turn then they may deep strike down together (even if he has a bike) because the Skyleap rules say that the whole unit may then deep strike back into play, and if they are available at the same time then the Autarch is still a part of the hawk's unit and may deep strike in under the Skyleap rules.

However, if you roll for reserves and the Autarch is available but the hawks are not, or vice versa, then the IC is immediately detached and is no longer a part of the unit and therefore no longer has the ability to deep strike in with them.

Q: You take, as HQ, an Autarch on Jetbike with Laser Lance.
He joins a squad of Shining Spears with Exarch.
The Exarch has taken the Withdraw ability (Hit and Run)
Now, it states under the description of Withdraw, that the Exarch's unit may use this ability. The question is, Does that also convey to the Autarch if he has joined the unit?
A: p21 of the Eldar Codex says that Exarch powers only effect Aspect Warriors and Autarchs that are attached to the squad. If a Farseer were to grab a Jetbike and join the squad however, not only would he not benefit from withdraw, but the entire squad would LOSE that ability so long as the Farseer is attached.

Q: Can Swooping Hawks come into play, drop their bombs and use the Sky Leap exarch power, in the same moment phase? From what I read in the rules, according to deep strike rules and the Necron codex, you can only move once a turn in the movement phase, and Necrons cant teleport more than once a turn.
A: Yes they can Deep Strike and then Sky Leap in the same turn. Swooping Hawks deep strike in at the beginning of the turn and in the moment phase drop their bombs. Per the Sky Leap ability they can then Sky Leap out during their movement phase. It never says that they can not do it if they have moved.

Q: Looking at how Direswords work (pg 30 Eldar Codex) it seems they function very similarly to Force weapons. So, like Force Weapons does a Diresword bypass a model's immunity to Instant Death if it has one?
A: Unless it says that the weapon inflicts Instant Death (or has a S 2x your T), then it doesn't. With the Diresword it does not inflict Instant Death, it removes the model from play.

Q: Are warlocks considered bodyguards?
A: You gain the ability to take a squad of Warlocks for every Farseer that you include in your army. They are not a retinue or a body guard, just a separate unit that does not use a FOC slot. They are still considered a HQ squad though.

Q: Can we have multiple Exarchs from the same aspect in the same army?
A: Yes you can, there is nothing in the rules that restrict the number of Exarchs of a single type you can have in your army.

Imperial Guard
Q: I have two Cadian Snipers in a special weapon squad. However I have looked through the new IG codex and can’t find any rules for guard sniper rifles! do they follow the space marine sniper rules?
A: Sniper weapons are in the core rulebook. They all need a 2+ to hit and a 4+ to wound against anything. AP varies sometimes, so use the entry in the IG codex in the summary on p. 63.

Q: Can I use a commissar in my command squad so that my master-vox gives everyone LD 10?
A: No. Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presence of a Commissar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."
As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commissar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.

Q: However my question is about Nitro Chem inhalers. In the doc's section of the codex it states that special equipment must be applied to everybody! So with that in mind, do I have to give my rough riders hem inhaler?
A: Yes

Necrons
Q: On the rules for the Monolith it has rules for 2 different weapons but there is only one type of weapon modeled. Do both shots start from those guns?
A: The particle whip is shot from the crystal centralized on top of the model and cannot be destroyed. The gauss flux arcs are shot from the four corner weapons.

Q: If a Necron Lord gets hit by a demolisher shell does it get a wbb roll if it has a res orb?
A: Yes he does get a wbb roll.

Q: Does a Necron Lord with a destroyer body have a 5/6 toughness or a 6 toughness for instant death?
A: They are considered T6.

Space Marines
A: Can a Veteran Sergeant purchase a lightning claw?
Q: Yes, since he has access to the armory he can purchase a lightning claw.

Q: With the Eye for an Eye trait is says that you can take a maximum of 1 squad of Land Speeders, Attack Bikes or Bike Squads, can I still take scout bike squads without restriction?
A: Since they are not listed in the restriction, you can take them as normal.

Q: Can you use drop pods without your opponent’s permission?
A: Yes it states in the Space Marine codex that you do not have to ask permission in normal games.

Tyranid
Q: The lash whip only affects models in base contact not all models with in assault range correct. So the model must actually be touching the base in order to lose on attack?
A: From page 31 of the Tyranid Codex: "Models in base contact with a creature equipped with a lash whip lose one attack in each Assault phase (to a minimum of 1)." So yes only models in base contact lose the attack.

Q: Is the lash whip accumulative, for example one lash whip first round of assault models in base contact loses one attack. The assault continues to the next round now do all models in base contact lose two attacks because combat lasted two rounds? This just doesn't sound right although this is how it was used against me the other night.
A: You only lose one attack per whip, not one attack per whip times the number of rounds you have been in contact with him. The person who played you like that was wrong.

Q: If I purchase two barbed stranglers for my Carnifex, does it count as Twin-Linked?
A: On page 30 of the Tyranid codex it states that any Tyranid Monstrous Creature wielding two of the same weapon counts the weapon as Twin-Linked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Started going through older questions and posting those that had a solid answer. If you have any suggestions please let me know.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Terminators (both SM and Chaos) fall under the allowed to shoot heavy weapons on the move and as such are allowed to assualt after firing heavy/rapid fire weapons.. the only dispute left on Termys is their shooting of rapid fire weapons.. its not in the rules anywhere that they are allowed to shoot rapid fire weapons as if stationary anymore.. its down to gentlemans agreements and house rules for that and generaly no one has any problem with it, its just generally acknowledge that this is a rule that was accidentally left out.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,372 Posts
Unfortunately, most rules problems come up when there isn't a strong book-backed answer. However, I find some of the most confusing things for newer players is allocating wounds to multiple armor save units (the chart is on p.76 with special abilities instead of with the armor saves section for some damn reason) and with general assault rules. However, these are things that are in the book, they just can be tough to grasp.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I was reading the CSM codex last night and it did give an answer to the question on rapid fire/assaulting. I do not have the dex on me but it does say that they can under the termie armor entry.

I will also get more of this listed today, I had a down day yesterday so I stayed away from the office :). Its going to take some time, there is 14 pages to weed through and get proper answers and make sure everything is spelled right.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have not forgotten this, I have an importent board tomorrow and have to study for that, I have about 3 pages of material to post and will get it up soon!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I have not not forgotten this, gettig on this site in very hard right now due to an issue with out internet here. I hope to be working on this once again soon!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
149 Posts
Djinn,
Regarding the first Q/A:
The answer regarding wysiwyg is good, but the example of the Wraithlord is not so much. You absolutely can model TL Missile Launchers on the new kit. (Unless the question pre-dates that release from '06.)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Darth, thank you for the heads up on that and you are right that it was previous. I will update it as soon as I can, very limited internet right now. +rep for ya!
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
I was reading the CSM codex last night and it did give an answer to the question on rapid fire/assaulting. I do not have the dex on me but it does say that they can under the termie armor entry.
Yes, but Loyalist terminators cannot because in none of their codices does it say they can.
In fact, the latest Loyalist codex (Blood Angels) goes out of its way to say they can move and fire heavy, and assault after firing RF and heavy but makes no mention of counting as stationary for RF (this is much like the plasma gunner on a bike issue)

But then, loyalist terminators don't get RF weapons very often so it's not a huge issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Added some of the new questions that have been asked a lot. Will be looking at the errors and fixing them soon as well as adding more topics.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Updated with about 20 questions and corrected some spelling and grammar issues, also changed a few answers or added to them for clarity.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Infantry
Q: If you have a squad with a single multi-wound character can you assign him 2 wounds and when the next wound comes assign it to one of the single wound models?
A: In a unit of single-wound models that happens to contain one multiple-wound model, the remove whole model rule does not apply, as it does not meet the criteria of having several multiple-wound models.

However (Since the multiple wound rule does not apply), you should add a note that the character cannot be assigned that second wound until one has been assigned to every other model in range and LOS.

Q: Can I use a commissar in my command squad so that my master-vox gives everyone LD 10?
A: No. Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presence of a Commissar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."
As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commissar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.

IG FAQ does say that the +1 boost to LD works for the Officer's Leadership ability, so any unit within 12" of the Officer can use the boosted LD.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
This thread is not for discussing rules, just hard and fast rulings on how they work. If you would like to discuss a rule, make a thread on it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
In the gaurd codex it says that the commissar scares the cmdr into focusing, this would seem to apply over a radio too
Guard FAQ says that the Leadership boost works for the Officers LD ability, but doesn't say it works anywhere else. So outside of the Officer's LD ability, the bit about only affecting unit's he is in applies. Also, there's a line in the IG FAQ about "special abilities" not transmitting down the vox net.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
Infantry
Q: Can I use a commissar in my command squad so that my master-vox gives everyone LD 10?
A: No. Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presence of a Commissar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."
As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commissar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.

IG FAQ does say that the +1 boost to LD works for the Officer's Leadership ability, so any unit within 12" of the Officer can use the boosted LD.
I remember reading in one of the faq's that the +1 ld does go over the vox system as well, apparently you can here him yelling over the vox or if you don't want any dispute you can get him to exercute the officer so that he becomes the leader of the unit and gives everyone in his unit ld 10 which goes over the vox
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
280 Posts
Q: Do Predators have an option to stop being destroyed?
A: No, they have options that allow them to repair an immobilized or weapon destroyed hit, but if it is destroyed, it stays that way.
That's outdated.

Q: If I had an Autarch on a Jetbike attached to a Swooping Hawks unit would I be able to use their Skyleap ability?
A: By rule, the Autarch can use Skyleap as he would be attached to the Hawks unit and the wording of Skyleap includes allowing them to Deep Strike back in. While I'm sure it was meant as a limitation, saying that they may only enter by their already available deep strike ability, the wording is such that (provided the Autarch was attaches before they used Skyleap) he would be allowed to deep strike back in.

However, remember that the Autarch is an HQ unit and rolls separately for availability when it comes to reserves...so there is a chance (admittedly low in later turns) that the Autarch could become available before the hawks, or the Hawks before the Autarch.

He can Skyleap with them, but whether he has wings or not, he *must* be rolled for separately form the rest of the squad to see if he is available to come in from reserves next turn. You roll reserves availability for each FOC choice separately. Hawks are Fast Attack the Autarch is HQ. You make one roll to see if the Autarch is available and one for the hawks. You must deploy on the turn that they become available.

If both the Autarch and the hawks are available on the same turn then they may deep strike down together (even if he has a bike) because the Skyleap rules say that the whole unit may then deep strike back into play, and if they are available at the same time then the Autarch is still a part of the hawk's unit and may deep strike in under the Skyleap rules.

However, if you roll for reserves and the Autarch is available but the hawks are not, or vice versa, then the IC is immediately detached and is no longer a part of the unit and therefore no longer has the ability to deep strike in with them.
This is incorrect, and has been superceded by the latest FAQ. The Autarch cannot detach from the squad in reserves and is included with the Hawks in their reserve roll.

Q: Can I use a commissar in my command squad so that my master-vox gives everyone LD 10?
A: No. Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presence of a Commissar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."
As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commissar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.
This is slightly incorrect, more than just the Command Squad can benefit from the LD boost. Units using the Officer's Leadership special rule also benefit from the boost, as detailed in the Imperial Guard FAQ.

I remember reading in one of the faq's that the +1 ld does go over the vox system as well, apparently you can here him yelling over the vox or if you don't want any dispute you can get him to exercute the officer so that he becomes the leader of the unit and gives everyone in his unit ld 10 which goes over the vox
No, this has never been the case. The FAQ says nothing of the sort.

------------

Daemon Hunters has also been spelt incorrectly.
 
1 - 20 of 24 Posts
Top